Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
they also make great home fries if you have some leftovers--yummy--reds are not the same as white--sorry but the reds do make a great potato salad with the skins on--yummy i take several bags to my nephew's in VA whenever i go visit him--also using sea salt is the only way to go--if the salt comes with them i only use about half of it-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Grew up in Western NY, but now live in Ottawa, Ontario and always had these potatoes at the fairs. What a nice reminder of home. Made a 1/2 batch and they were perfect! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benjiesluv
Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These were DA BOMB!! Super creamy and perfectly seasoned and great with a sprinkling of green onions. Just made some simple sauced pork chops and hubby ate the Whole thing! Yiippee:):) Thanks so much Kaspmary!! These are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
These were great! Yes, it is a lot of salt, but the result is a buttery, smooth potato with a crispy, salty skin. We didn't serve with butter. They are perfect in their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Good and different. This was the first time I ever tried these and it was really good from the same old potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These are the best salt potatoes EVER! I absolutely love the recipe and will make it again for sure. To me, salt potatoes are potatoes done right. I stuck to the recipe almost to the letter, but used 4 servings instead. I had to guess a little with the salt and potatoes, but other than that I really didn't change the recipe. I added in herbs from my garden that I had dried in my dehydrator while boiling. I also lightly put in some Table Blend Style Mrs. Dash, my favorite seasoning mix. The result was wonderful! Not only did I have fun making it, the dish was delicious! I could not put it down! If you are anyone who likes potatoes, give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbGrowerNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are great! When made properly, they are amazingly creamy on the inside and very lightly crusted with salt on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Thank you for the recipe these were so yummy with Dinner tonight! :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was so hopeful.....but disappointed! Don't understand what everyone is raving about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Wow! What an awesome dish! I made these for my girlfriend's birthday dinner tonight and we were both blown away by these little nuggets of goodness. I used Teeny Tiny Potatoes from Trader Joe's and followed the tip from another reviewer about the proportion of salt:water. Since I had a 1# bag of potatoes, I used 3/8 c. salt: 2 cups water. The salt crust formed just as described. Sooo delish and super easy. We will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States