Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Good and different. This was the first time I ever tried these and it was really good from the same old potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These are the best salt potatoes EVER! I absolutely love the recipe and will make it again for sure. To me, salt potatoes are potatoes done right. I stuck to the recipe almost to the letter, but used 4 servings instead. I had to guess a little with the salt and potatoes, but other than that I really didn't change the recipe. I added in herbs from my garden that I had dried in my dehydrator while boiling. I also lightly put in some Table Blend Style Mrs. Dash, my favorite seasoning mix. The result was wonderful! Not only did I have fun making it, the dish was delicious! I could not put it down! If you are anyone who likes potatoes, give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbGrowerNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are great! When made properly, they are amazingly creamy on the inside and very lightly crusted with salt on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Thank you for the recipe these were so yummy with Dinner tonight! :))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I was so hopeful.....but disappointed! Don't understand what everyone is raving about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Wow! What an awesome dish! I made these for my girlfriend's birthday dinner tonight and we were both blown away by these little nuggets of goodness. I used Teeny Tiny Potatoes from Trader Joe's and followed the tip from another reviewer about the proportion of salt:water. Since I had a 1# bag of potatoes, I used 3/8 c. salt: 2 cups water. The salt crust formed just as described. Sooo delish and super easy. We will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maroa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I love this recipe!!! I had these the first time up in Gouverneur, NY! Loved them....new I make them once a month and always come to this recipe because i never remember!!!! THANX soooo much!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
They are SOOOO good made just as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minky410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Very good....followed recipe as stated. Potatoes did change in consistency and were very creamy and smooth. Topped with the melted butter with a little Thyme.....perfect pairing with baked chicken. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Yum - and really not salty at all. I didn't get as much of a salt crust as other people said (maybe too much water?), but they were good anyway. My 15 year old (who doesn't like potatoes at all) really liked these. Used up all the salt in the house, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States