Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Up there with some of the best potatoes in the world. Really is there anything better then salty buttery potatoes. I think not. Not overly salty at all. It was almost like mashed potatoes inside. So creamy so yummy. I used purple potatoes and browned my butter a tad because I love the nuttiness of brown butter. So very good I know I will be making this dish often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
YAY! I LOVE salt potatoes (I'm from Syracuse, so I might be a bit partial); can't get them down South where I live now, though. So glad I found this so I know the right ratio of salt to potatoes! Now if I could just figure out how to make cheese curd like the Amish up in Pulaski...maybe transport some white hots down here...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This was delicious and simple! I put about 2lbs of small-medium red, purple and gold potatoes in a pot & covered generously with water. I added one cup of salt (my that's a lot of salt when you have it all measured out) and allowed it to come to a boil. Then, I simmered those potato butts for 20-25 minutes. What came out was amazing! Taken out with a slotted spoon and patiently waiting for them to dry, a soft salt crust developed around the skin making it look like my potatoes were precious jewels. I devoured them immediately. I loved how the outside skin was salty and chewy and the inside "meat" though slightly bland, was creamy and soft and paired well with the salty exterior. Even my boyfriend (whom displayed no interest upon hearing how these were made) readily ate a few. No need for butter. These make for perfect snacks on the go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arzenika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
they also make great home fries if you have some leftovers--yummy--reds are not the same as white--sorry but the reds do make a great potato salad with the skins on--yummy i take several bags to my nephew's in VA whenever i go visit him--also using sea salt is the only way to go--if the salt comes with them i only use about half of it-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Grew up in Western NY, but now live in Ottawa, Ontario and always had these potatoes at the fairs. What a nice reminder of home. Made a 1/2 batch and they were perfect! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benjiesluv
Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
These were DA BOMB!! Super creamy and perfectly seasoned and great with a sprinkling of green onions. Just made some simple sauced pork chops and hubby ate the Whole thing! Yiippee:):) Thanks so much Kaspmary!! These are a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
These were great! Yes, it is a lot of salt, but the result is a buttery, smooth potato with a crispy, salty skin. We didn't serve with butter. They are perfect in their own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Good and different. This was the first time I ever tried these and it was really good from the same old potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
These are the best salt potatoes EVER! I absolutely love the recipe and will make it again for sure. To me, salt potatoes are potatoes done right. I stuck to the recipe almost to the letter, but used 4 servings instead. I had to guess a little with the salt and potatoes, but other than that I really didn't change the recipe. I added in herbs from my garden that I had dried in my dehydrator while boiling. I also lightly put in some Table Blend Style Mrs. Dash, my favorite seasoning mix. The result was wonderful! Not only did I have fun making it, the dish was delicious! I could not put it down! If you are anyone who likes potatoes, give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HerbGrowerNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are great! When made properly, they are amazingly creamy on the inside and very lightly crusted with salt on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States