Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I am from Rochester/Buffalo Ny area, and no summer picnic, BBQ, or clam bake is complete without salt potatoes! I never put butter on top of them bc I prefer them plain with the salty crust. If you skip the butter then you can eat them cold for breakfast the next morning. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wittygrl19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Very good! I have never made these before, but being raised by parents from Upstate NY, I've eaten them many times. I thought the ratio of salt and butter was perfect. Some reviews mentioned it being too salty, but the salt is boiled in the water, not placed directly on the cooked potatoes. Overall good flavor and I'll definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndrewsWife01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
These are the best! To get the full taste I had someone drive 700 miles from Syracuse to bring me salt potaotes from Wegmans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I am originally from the Utica, New York area and grew up with these potatoes. I just fixed them tonight for a lobster dinner we were having and they were a BIG hit. They are easy to fix and are a real treat when paired with the lobster. I will definitely be serving them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Twin Mountain, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I'm from the midwest and had never heard of these. I thought I would give them a try (just because I'm like that!) and was actually quite impressed with the change in the potatoes. One would think that it really wouldn't be more than a salty potato...however, it's not salty. They are creamy and wonderful. I would offer one word of caution. I made the mistake of making them alongside a rather mundane pot roast that I expected to be more flavorful than it was. I would definitely recommend serving them with something with a much bolder flavor. I saw someone said something about them being served with BBQ chicken and I could definitely see that. I would just go with a bolder meat than pot roast with these...they deserve it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
I use this recipe all the time now when I want potatoes with my meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Excellent. Do not peel the potatoes. The salt water adds a different flavor to the potatoes and they have a smoother consistency. When they come out of the water, they form a salt crust on the skins that is full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Simply delicious. A must at any meal. Easy, quick, just like Grandma Brown's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Soo glad I found this recipe. We used to have these at clambakes every year growing up. I'm originally from WNY right on lake ontario. I moved out to the midwest and nobody here new what I was talking about. But this recipe is just what I remeber as a kid! Add a chopped parsely oy chives to the butter for a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
The author forgot to add that salt potatoes are a summer cookout dish! In fact they are a staple at any clam bake, BBQ or cookout in CNY. I don't think I could eat them in the middle of winter. But they go great with hotdogs on the grill and some corn on the cob, or even with some steamed clams. I am a CNY native and always had salt potatoes growning up, I never knew they were regional until recently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, New York, USA
Living In: Clay, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States