Syracuse Salt Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
This is how it's done! These potatoes are SUPPOSED to be salty and buttery! No one ever said "health food". We said SALT POTATOES! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Born in Batavia, NY with family outside Syracuse, we always had salt potatoes throughout the year but, most especially, at the annual family clambake. Thank you for submitting this recipe along with a little history. We moved out of NY many years ago and no one here had ever heard of salt potatoes. Baby Reds are a must!!! Do NOT Cut the Potatoes! You will ruin then!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiflada

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
Perfect exactly as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Love small potatoes cooked this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Very simply and fast to put together, awesome addition to compliment a hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplynewt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: Titus, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
These were very tasty, took longer to cook than listed, but delicious. It made too much for me, next time I will try cutting in half as I don't have a large family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Okay, with 113 reviews on this recipe, I seriously doubt that MY review will ever be read but I'm posting it anyway. :D I love reading stories about architypal food that our ancestors ate. I stumbled upon an article on wikipedia about Syracuse Salt Potatoes and was absolutely enthralled with the story of Irish Salt Miners from the turn of the century. On Wikipedia, they had two recipe links. I followed THERE recipes and my family and I enjoyed a treat STRAIGHT FROM HEAVEN!!!! This is what I learned: 1) Use ONLY "NEW yellow or white potatoes!!!" Never-ever use red skin potatoes!!! 2) The ratio of salt to water is 1 cup of KOSHER SALT (never table salt) to 6 cups of water. 3) The salt must be completely dissolved IN the water before you put in the potatoes. 4) Boil them until tender, drain but DO NOT RINSE. Allow to cool until you can eat them and use melted butter to dip them into. I'm telling you, Syracuse Salt Potatoes will be served in our home from now on! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELDERBERRYBABY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by Eddie Murphy
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Added fresh chives to the butter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Murphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
The simplicity was appealing, and I followed the recipe precisely. What I found was an over salted, potato with an unpleasant texture and bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States