Swordfish a la Siciliana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This tastes as exotic as it sounds. Wonderful aromas fill the house with all these great ingredients. Definately worth a try if you are in the mood for something different. A very elegant and colorful meal for a special occasion. Goes good with polenta (either creamy or fried).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Pike

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
TO DIE FOR!!!! This is the BEST recipe I've gotten from the internet and the best baked swordfish, or any fish, I've eaten! It is truly an authentic Italian recipe, even better than what I've enjoyed there over the years. I followed the recipe exactly except for using golden rasins and tripling the garlic, to suit my taste. I can't wait to make this for friends. Buon Appetitto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
The first time I tried this recipe it was okay. After reading others reviews, I tried it again with spectacular results! I soaked the swordfish steaks in milk for about half an hour to remove the extra fishy taste, then seared the steaks in a well-oiled hot cast iron skillet on both sides. I added all the other ingredients, using golden raisins, omitting the onion, and substituted canned diced tomatoes with the juice, and sunflower seeds for the pine nuts. Put the skillet in the oven and cooked about 8 minutes. Flipped the fish and topped them with the tomato mixture, and cooked for about 10 minutes more. The tomato juice kept the fish moist and it cooked down completely. The result was unique and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This swordfish recipe is EXCELLENT!!! Even my picky hubby ate it. It has the right flavor, and the raisins gave it a nice blend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
I really enjoyed this dish. The fish was very tasty and didn't have that 'fishy' taste. We enjoyed our swordfish with a nice Reisling. I would have given this recipe 5 stars if it had explained what to do with the raisins it asked me to soak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
This sauce looked amazing and was really tasty - I made it for a dinner party and all five guests asked for seconds! As the sauce is so flavoursome I think you could easily use a plainer (and cheaper) fish like cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This was a great combination of flavors and the swordfish was ideal (very pricey!!) but an ideal "steak" without the fishey flavor. Even my son enjoyed it and he is not a fish eater. Rinse the capers, though, if you have bought the jar/pickled capers. I did follow the recipe except I used 10 oz can of diced tomatoes (with chilis) but I did not use the juice. Next time I would use the juice though just to keep is moister in the pan while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverTERESA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indian Rocks Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
I'm not a big fan of tomato based sauces or Italian food, but this was really good. Baking the sauce on top of the swordfish makes it extra tender. The capers and olives are yummy. I also added a couple anchovies which adds to the complexity of flavor. I have also grilled the swordfish and then topped it with the mixture. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2001
This has to be one of the best recipes I have found on the internet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hoveyfox
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Delicious! I marinated my steaks for 24 hours with 1/3 cup white wine, 1/4 cup lemon juice, 2 tablespoons soy sauce, and 2 tablespoons olive oil. For the sauce, I doubled the garlic and never set my burner higher than medium. I cooked my swordfish steaks for 30 minutes because they were about 2 1/2 inches thick. They came out perfect. I served this over garlic mashed potatoes with asparagus with hollandaise sauce on the side. My boyfriend said this was the best meal he has had in years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States