Swordfish a la Siciliana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Excellent! I am not a raisin lover, so I had planned on pushing mine to the side; the raisins were a perfect sweet counterpart to the saltiness of the olives and capers, however, and I thoroughly enjoyed them. This is a perfect dish for entertaining because the sauce could be made earlier in the day and spooned on the swordfish when ready to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
What a FANTASTIC recipe. I used golden raisins and used 3 cloves of garlic instead of one, but followed everything else exactly except I did have to up the time to 30 minutes. If your in the mood for something different but authentic you can't go wrong with this recipe. The flavors just explode in your mouth. ABSOLUTELY DELISCIOUS !!!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was very good! I did double the sauce and added extra garlic.I also added about 1 tbsp of fresh lemon juice to the sauce. This was so easy and tasty! I had rather thick swordfish steaks so they did take a bit longer to cook...about 30 minutes. We really enjoyed this! Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This was excellent. My steaks might have been a bit larger, because after 20 minutes, they were still raw in the middle. I think 30 - 35 minutes at 400 F should do the trick if the steaks are thick. The sauce has a taste that's out of this world! I made this with yellow and green zucchini and it was a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
amazing...followed directions exactly and there wasn't a bite left...even on 7 y/o daughter's plate! hubby thought it was fantastic! would maybe try this on the grill, too. served with honey roasted potato from this site. delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was really good. I used shark instead of swordfish b/c I had some on hand. I spooned the sauce over the side of rice pilaf in addition to eating it on the fish. Wonderful! I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Hubby bought some shark to try & shark is a good sub for swordfish (shark is not as sweet or flaky) so I went w/ this recipe. I really liked the sauce although I would cut down on the olives...that was the predominant flavor. Hubby, who doesn't like olives, doesn't want to have the dish again. I think we will try it again but I'll omit the olives for my olive-hating husband. I served this w/ pinot grigio, a pkged gnocchi baked w/ butter & parmesan cheese & a salad w/ a sun dried tomato vinaigrette....Chocolate-Mascarpone Phyllo Triangles (from this site) for dessert. Thanks Rockfishusa! We'll do this again w/ accomodations made for hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
This recipe is excellent and deserves 5 stars. However, if you want to have an equally delicious dish, try another recipe on this site - Sea Bass Cuban Style - it has a lot of the same flavor, but with a less expensive fish. I actually prefer the Sea Bass dish but this one is good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
This was wonderful, different and easy. I used shark as it was much more reasonably priced. I would think any meaty fish would be good in this dish. I will make again, often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This is an EXCELLENT sauce! I put it over "Easy Polenta with Tomato Sauce" from this site and the fresh sturgeon (which I panfried to a golden brown in olive oil and butter) that DH brought home from our favorite fishmonger. I had to use calamatas instead of green olives because that's what I had on hand, and also had to sub canned whole tomatoes for fresh... the sauce was STILL very tasty but I can't wait to make it with fresh tomatoes from my garden this summer! I skipped the baking part of the polenta recipe and just served it soft with the sauce over it and the fish as well. Wasn't too sure about the amount of olive oil and the raisins, (I prefer savory dishes over sweet) but it was all spot-on!! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States