Swordfish a la Siciliana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
the only thing i didn't have were the pine nuts - because the fish wasn't fried or grilled, it made the sauce too watery. next time, i will either fry or grill the fish first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
made this with tilapia and chicken and everyone loved it. forgot the pine nuts but will add next time. will try 1/2 the raisins next time as they clashed with the capers. thought the entire small onion was going to be too much but it was wonderful. I blended half so it was a smoother consistency and liked the appearance better. cooked zuchinni, summer squash and carrots until tender-crisp and tossed with the mix and topped with a little feta - delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
this was delicious!! I added a little white wine to the sauce and used golden raisins too....YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
SIMPLY AMAZING! A few tips...If you are using a coil stove like I was: prevent 1) Do NOT place the oil, onion, and garlic on high...set on Medium, or slightly below that. Simmer until soft, and then... 2) Add in the final sauce ingredients, stir, and turn the heat to low or slightly above that *this will prevent burning anything* 3) Cover for 15 minutes 4) Once the sauce is done, place the thawed swordfish in the oven at the listed heat (preheated to 400), and cook the swordfish without the sauce for five minutes 5) Pull the swordfish out, and add the sauce. Place the swordfish (with the sauce) back in the oven, and continue to cook for 10-15 minutes. 6) Pull the swordfish out, and turn off the oven. I found that the swordfish was still undercooked in the center, so I placed some heavy duty tinfoil over the baking dish, and left it in the oven for another ten minutes. The swordfish came out fully cooked, with a very moist texture. The sauce also didn't burn, and by placing the tin foil over the cooking dish…it allowed the flavors to be absorbed into the fish even more. All in all, a great experience, and my girlfriend loved it! -Rafi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rafi!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I liked this very much, however, I did make a few changes: I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used one can of diced tomatoes; I used only about 7 olives instead of 10 and only about an 1/8 cup of capers; I also used only about half the olive oil called for; lastly I didn't use pine nuts as I didn't have any. My kids only picked at it, and my husband didn't comment either way, but I really liked it and will likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Swordfish is one of our favorite dishes. This recipe guarantees a moist and flavorful presentation. Watch the cooking time as 15 minutes may be too long for a small portion. We used the left over Sicilian salsa to top blue cheese burgers the next night. It was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lake Norman Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I really enjoyed this meal. I served it with Robin's Quinoa from this site and it was quite the hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Way to much oil in this recipe. I even cut it down to 4tbsps. I would probably use two next time. Didn't have pine nuts and missed them. Too many capers for my taste. Great idea, just needs some tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This was delish...Very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetToothTiff
Reviewed: May 5, 2008
It was easy to make and it was so good. My seven year old even ate it. I also left out the raisins, because I am not a big fan of raisins. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetToothTiff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Uhrichsville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States