Swordfish a la Siciliana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Works perfectly with swordfish texture which is more firm. The only changes I made were to use canned petite diced tomatoes drained of most of the juice, and I did not bake (I didn't want to dirty another pan), I seared the swordfish steaks with grape seed oil (only oil I use) before I started the sauce then removed from pan and set aside. I made the sauce then placed the steaks back in the pan with the sauce to simmer covered until the steaks flaked with fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This tasted great and made for a wonderful presentation at the table! I made a couple of minor changes - I only used about half the oil, used a can of diced tomatoes (didn't have fresh), and left out the pine nuts (due to allergies). My family loved the little bits of sweetness from the raisins (I used golden) along with the tart, salty flavor of the capers and olives. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Great recipe overall. I made extra topping and was glad I did. The only tweaks I made was extra garlic (personal preference), and, like some other reviewers, a healthy dose of balsamic vinegar, which put the flavor over the top! I confess I didn't have olives or capers on hand, but I did have prepared olive tapenade which seemed to be a fair substitute. I'm not a big olive fan in general, but the combination of flavors worked for me and the olive was not too overpowering. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maitland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
the only thing i didn't have were the pine nuts - because the fish wasn't fried or grilled, it made the sauce too watery. next time, i will either fry or grill the fish first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
made this with tilapia and chicken and everyone loved it. forgot the pine nuts but will add next time. will try 1/2 the raisins next time as they clashed with the capers. thought the entire small onion was going to be too much but it was wonderful. I blended half so it was a smoother consistency and liked the appearance better. cooked zuchinni, summer squash and carrots until tender-crisp and tossed with the mix and topped with a little feta - delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
this was delicious!! I added a little white wine to the sauce and used golden raisins too....YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
SIMPLY AMAZING! A few tips...If you are using a coil stove like I was: prevent 1) Do NOT place the oil, onion, and garlic on high...set on Medium, or slightly below that. Simmer until soft, and then... 2) Add in the final sauce ingredients, stir, and turn the heat to low or slightly above that *this will prevent burning anything* 3) Cover for 15 minutes 4) Once the sauce is done, place the thawed swordfish in the oven at the listed heat (preheated to 400), and cook the swordfish without the sauce for five minutes 5) Pull the swordfish out, and add the sauce. Place the swordfish (with the sauce) back in the oven, and continue to cook for 10-15 minutes. 6) Pull the swordfish out, and turn off the oven. I found that the swordfish was still undercooked in the center, so I placed some heavy duty tinfoil over the baking dish, and left it in the oven for another ten minutes. The swordfish came out fully cooked, with a very moist texture. The sauce also didn't burn, and by placing the tin foil over the cooking dish…it allowed the flavors to be absorbed into the fish even more. All in all, a great experience, and my girlfriend loved it! -Rafi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rafi!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I liked this very much, however, I did make a few changes: I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used one can of diced tomatoes; I used only about 7 olives instead of 10 and only about an 1/8 cup of capers; I also used only about half the olive oil called for; lastly I didn't use pine nuts as I didn't have any. My kids only picked at it, and my husband didn't comment either way, but I really liked it and will likely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
Swordfish is one of our favorite dishes. This recipe guarantees a moist and flavorful presentation. Watch the cooking time as 15 minutes may be too long for a small portion. We used the left over Sicilian salsa to top blue cheese burgers the next night. It was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lake Norman Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I really enjoyed this meal. I served it with Robin's Quinoa from this site and it was quite the hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States