Swordfish a la Siciliana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
The swordfish was moist and flavorful. The sauce was delishous. This would definitely work on other types of fish. I added a couple of teaspoons of good balsamic viniger to the suace. I also used a good extra virgin olive oil. I'm definitely going to make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ship's Galley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
This was absolutely delicious and easy to make. The flavors blended together very nicely and my bf ate everything up! I used golden raisins for a slightly milder taste. Though I like capers, I didn't have any so I omitted them (I didn't even miss them). I did have to add a little broth into the baking dish after a little while as I had to cook the swordfish longer (had a big juicy piece). It ended up perfect as it just reduced with the rest of the sauce. All in all, a great recipe and I will be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinja

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
My husband made this last night and it was fabulous! I was not too sure when he said he wanted to try it but ended up a believer. He did not add all of the called for raisins and we both wished he had. The salty/sweet combination was wonderful. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
What a tasty and unique dish! I really enjoyed this one, wonderful blend of flavours, yet very simple to put together in relatively little time. My husband gives this one a 3, meaning 'good' in his eyes...I opted for a 4 as I thought it was 'really good'!! Definitely not your everyday dish, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Fantastic recipe! Works perfectly with swordfish texture which is more firm. The only changes I made were to use canned petite diced tomatoes drained of most of the juice, and I did not bake (I didn't want to dirty another pan), I seared the swordfish steaks with grape seed oil (only oil I use) before I started the sauce then removed from pan and set aside. I made the sauce then placed the steaks back in the pan with the sauce to simmer covered until the steaks flaked with fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonsai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This tasted great and made for a wonderful presentation at the table! I made a couple of minor changes - I only used about half the oil, used a can of diced tomatoes (didn't have fresh), and left out the pine nuts (due to allergies). My family loved the little bits of sweetness from the raisins (I used golden) along with the tart, salty flavor of the capers and olives. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Great recipe overall. I made extra topping and was glad I did. The only tweaks I made was extra garlic (personal preference), and, like some other reviewers, a healthy dose of balsamic vinegar, which put the flavor over the top! I confess I didn't have olives or capers on hand, but I did have prepared olive tapenade which seemed to be a fair substitute. I'm not a big olive fan in general, but the combination of flavors worked for me and the olive was not too overpowering. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maitland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
the only thing i didn't have were the pine nuts - because the fish wasn't fried or grilled, it made the sauce too watery. next time, i will either fry or grill the fish first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dettie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
made this with tilapia and chicken and everyone loved it. forgot the pine nuts but will add next time. will try 1/2 the raisins next time as they clashed with the capers. thought the entire small onion was going to be too much but it was wonderful. I blended half so it was a smoother consistency and liked the appearance better. cooked zuchinni, summer squash and carrots until tender-crisp and tossed with the mix and topped with a little feta - delightful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOBBES7895

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
this was delicious!! I added a little white wine to the sauce and used golden raisins too....YUM!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States