Swordfish a la Siciliana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe!! Followed recipe exactly as written except used 3 cloves of garlic instead of one. Swordfish steaks came from Omaha Steaks and were one inch thick. Will make again for company next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
It's really delicious!!! A bit expensive though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I purchased 2 swordfish filets from Fresh Market, they were thick, so I cut them horizontally and made them into 4 perfect portion filets. I seasoned and seared both sides of the fish first. I then covered them for later. Once the sauce was done, I added the seared swordfish and topped with raisin sauce and baked for only 12 minutes. I omitted the pine nuts (allergies). This was VERY moist and flavorful swordfish (normally a drier fish). I cook a lot and this received rave reviews ~ mostly how incredibly moist it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this recipe for my boyfriend and his bestfriend. The topping is fantastic! Lots of flavor! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. The house smelled amazing! They kept asking what was in the topping, so many different flavors, but they went together perfect. I will def. be making this one again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Mmmmm. I don't even like swordfish. This preparation is great. I have used similar ones, sans the pine nuts and rasins. They were a bit acidic. The raisns and pine nuts balance the acidic tomato, capers and olives. I forgot to buy tomatos. I used a can of stewed tomatos. Super YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was with out a doubt the most fantastic swordfish I've ever had. No restaurant experience could top this. I halved the recipe, used shallot for onion, gold raisins, and I used canned diced tomatoes. I cooked the chutney in my cast iron skillet, then just added the fish to the skillet and put in the oven. The fish came out cooked to perfection and not at all dry. I'm so grateful to have such a delicous and impressive recipe in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
The problem with swordfish is that it often gets too dry. The problem was not solved adequately with this recipe. Otherwise, I really liked the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brown City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This recipe was amazingly simple and SOOOO delicious! I had everything but the olives and pine nuts, so I omitted the olives (hubby doesn't like them anyway) and substituted sunflower seeds for the pine nuts. While I waited for the sauce to cook, I washed the dishes and still had time to season the fish. I added about a half cup of water to the sauce though and covered the dish with foil in the oven. It turned out amazing and the swordfish tasted so good. Definitely making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hoveyfox
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Delicious! I marinated my steaks for 24 hours with 1/3 cup white wine, 1/4 cup lemon juice, 2 tablespoons soy sauce, and 2 tablespoons olive oil. For the sauce, I doubled the garlic and never set my burner higher than medium. I cooked my swordfish steaks for 30 minutes because they were about 2 1/2 inches thick. They came out perfect. I served this over garlic mashed potatoes with asparagus with hollandaise sauce on the side. My boyfriend said this was the best meal he has had in years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hoveyfox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
This was totally worth the trip to the store to buy the ingredients! If you want somthing different and easy to make that will impress....this is it! I cooked the mixture ahead of time so that all I had to do was cover it ontop of the fish and stick it in the oven when my guests arrived. I made the recipe to the T and it came out perfect! I served this with rice pilaf and mixed arugula salad. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mans wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States