Swordfish a la Siciliana Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Meh....pretty dissappointing as it looked exciting. We finished our meals but won't make a again. Sounds better on paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This was so good. I agree it is one of the best recipes I have found on the internet. The only change I made was that I used currents instead of regular raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
The first time I tried this recipe it was okay. After reading others reviews, I tried it again with spectacular results! I soaked the swordfish steaks in milk for about half an hour to remove the extra fishy taste, then seared the steaks in a well-oiled hot cast iron skillet on both sides. I added all the other ingredients, using golden raisins, omitting the onion, and substituted canned diced tomatoes with the juice, and sunflower seeds for the pine nuts. Put the skillet in the oven and cooked about 8 minutes. Flipped the fish and topped them with the tomato mixture, and cooked for about 10 minutes more. The tomato juice kept the fish moist and it cooked down completely. The result was unique and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Deliciously moist and flavorful! Didn't have pine nuts around & forgot to include the capers, but nonetheless it turned out wonderful. Loved it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe!! Followed recipe exactly as written except used 3 cloves of garlic instead of one. Swordfish steaks came from Omaha Steaks and were one inch thick. Will make again for company next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
It's really delicious!!! A bit expensive though..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I purchased 2 swordfish filets from Fresh Market, they were thick, so I cut them horizontally and made them into 4 perfect portion filets. I seasoned and seared both sides of the fish first. I then covered them for later. Once the sauce was done, I added the seared swordfish and topped with raisin sauce and baked for only 12 minutes. I omitted the pine nuts (allergies). This was VERY moist and flavorful swordfish (normally a drier fish). I cook a lot and this received rave reviews ~ mostly how incredibly moist it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cudahy, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this recipe for my boyfriend and his bestfriend. The topping is fantastic! Lots of flavor! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. The house smelled amazing! They kept asking what was in the topping, so many different flavors, but they went together perfect. I will def. be making this one again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Mmmmm. I don't even like swordfish. This preparation is great. I have used similar ones, sans the pine nuts and rasins. They were a bit acidic. The raisns and pine nuts balance the acidic tomato, capers and olives. I forgot to buy tomatos. I used a can of stewed tomatos. Super YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was with out a doubt the most fantastic swordfish I've ever had. No restaurant experience could top this. I halved the recipe, used shallot for onion, gold raisins, and I used canned diced tomatoes. I cooked the chutney in my cast iron skillet, then just added the fish to the skillet and put in the oven. The fish came out cooked to perfection and not at all dry. I'm so grateful to have such a delicous and impressive recipe in my repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Grilled Swordfish Bruschetta

Grilled bread and swordfish get dressed up with a cherry tomato vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Mediterranean Stuffed Swordfish

Five-star swordfish steaks stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States