Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this delicious quick bread twice...the first time as printed, so I would know how it should taste, the second I used 2/3 cup honey because my husband prefers it to white sugar and added 1 more teaspoon baking soda (because of the honey). Both times it was very tasty. In fact, my husband has asked that I bake this bread instead of serving store-bought. To top that, my sweet mother-in-law insisted on taking the second loaf home with her! High praise indeed from a retired professional baker and a lady who raised a large family on homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
surprisingly good for as simple as it is to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
9/13/06 - I've never tried 'Swope Bread' before, but I wanted to make something bread-y without yeast or eggs. I did a half batch to make one loaf, and I didn't have whole wheat flour so I used 3 cups of all-purpose. I used about 1/4 cup sugar and around the same amount of honey. I used 1 cup of fat-free vanilla yogurt and 1 cup of milk plus 1 tablespoon of vinegar. It turned out really well, and my 3-year old loves it! I think she believes she's eating cake as it's a sweet bread. Next time, I'll probably cut the sugar in half. Thanks, Melissa, for a marvelous recipe! *** 9/14/06 - I have to reduce my rating from 5 stars as the bread has a weird, almost chemical smell to it - like bleach or strong disinfectant - that's rather off-putting. It didn't have it just after coming out of the oven, but late last night and today, it's been very much there. I might try this again to see if it was just a fluke problem with my changes or if it's going to be a regular occurance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
You have to be in the mood for this bread. I love it for breakfast, toasted with butter...YUM! Very unique, but I really like it. It's a different treat when you are bored with the same old bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I've baked this bread twice - once yesterday and now today - both times it turned out kind of spongey in texture - and it has a funny taste - although - no after taste - as you sometimes get with yeast-breads -- i like it but i don't really like it -- but i like that it's easy to bake - like a cake - you just mix everything together and pour it in the tin - and it bakes so fast - and you don't have to wait for it to rise and get your hands sticky kneeding it - so this bread has it's advantages - but it's no 5 star bread in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This is the best and easy bread I made. Definetly make is again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICHUSHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochin, Kerala, India
Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
REALLY GOOD. I cut back the sugar, and used only wheat flour. It came out crispy on top and soft inside. Such a quick and easy bread I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clayton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
five stars for the simplicity and tastiness of this recipe. i had extra buttermilk i wanted to use in a recipe easily and quickly. i only had unbleached flour on hand, reduced the amount of sugar, and baked in small loaf pans. the bread was wonderfully (but not too) sweet and had just the right amount of substance (not too fluffy nor dense). try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
I loved this bread!! I halved the recipe to make one loaf. The dough was quite thick after mixed so I wasn't sure how it would turn out. I did rise an inch or two and that surprised me as I am used to having to use yeast. I baked it an hour and it came out well. I also used no whole wheat flour as I didn't have any on hand, so I used all all purpose white flour from hodgkin's mill. I also had to sub rice syrup for the sugar as I cannot have sugar. I also had no buttermilk so I sub full fat plain yogurt. It turned out great, butter on top made it awesome. It was almost sweet without being too sweet and very dense. I will make this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Great! How can you beat a tasty, simple-to-make bread, It tastes good with honey butter, cream cheese, peanut butter . . . reminds me of a bagel in some ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States