Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This was so easy to make! I only used 2/3 cup sugar because some reviewers said it was too sweet, but next time I will follow the recipe exactly--I think it needs the full amount. I'm not much of a baker, and I have a fear of bread making in particular, so I was so happy to see that neither proofing nor kneading were necessary. It was a sticky batter, and the bread came out dense and soft. I am going to freeze one loaf, so we will see if it freezes well. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
Excellent. I made one loaf and everyone loved it. I believe this is the easiest and best quick bread that I've made in many years of cooking. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
What should the unbaked texture be like, can someone kindly let me know. Looking forward to making. Yeast Bread baker, Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is a wonderful sweet bread and so super easy. I followed the recipe exactly as written and my family loved it. I think this bread would make a great base for banana nut bread or raisin nut bread. I am probably going to try one of those in the near future. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: Vinemont, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I made this delicious quick bread twice...the first time as printed, so I would know how it should taste, the second I used 2/3 cup honey because my husband prefers it to white sugar and added 1 more teaspoon baking soda (because of the honey). Both times it was very tasty. In fact, my husband has asked that I bake this bread instead of serving store-bought. To top that, my sweet mother-in-law insisted on taking the second loaf home with her! High praise indeed from a retired professional baker and a lady who raised a large family on homemade bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
surprisingly good for as simple as it is to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
9/13/06 - I've never tried 'Swope Bread' before, but I wanted to make something bread-y without yeast or eggs. I did a half batch to make one loaf, and I didn't have whole wheat flour so I used 3 cups of all-purpose. I used about 1/4 cup sugar and around the same amount of honey. I used 1 cup of fat-free vanilla yogurt and 1 cup of milk plus 1 tablespoon of vinegar. It turned out really well, and my 3-year old loves it! I think she believes she's eating cake as it's a sweet bread. Next time, I'll probably cut the sugar in half. Thanks, Melissa, for a marvelous recipe! *** 9/14/06 - I have to reduce my rating from 5 stars as the bread has a weird, almost chemical smell to it - like bleach or strong disinfectant - that's rather off-putting. It didn't have it just after coming out of the oven, but late last night and today, it's been very much there. I might try this again to see if it was just a fluke problem with my changes or if it's going to be a regular occurance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
You have to be in the mood for this bread. I love it for breakfast, toasted with butter...YUM! Very unique, but I really like it. It's a different treat when you are bored with the same old bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I've baked this bread twice - once yesterday and now today - both times it turned out kind of spongey in texture - and it has a funny taste - although - no after taste - as you sometimes get with yeast-breads -- i like it but i don't really like it -- but i like that it's easy to bake - like a cake - you just mix everything together and pour it in the tin - and it bakes so fast - and you don't have to wait for it to rise and get your hands sticky kneeding it - so this bread has it's advantages - but it's no 5 star bread in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This is the best and easy bread I made. Definetly make is again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICHUSHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochin, Kerala, India
Living In: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States