Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
This was just too dense and heavy for my liking, it had good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SteffieLou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This recipe was so easy. I was worried when it wasn't fluffy bread dough, but it cooked very well. My kids say "it's holy" and "this is like heaven." It's a winner recipe in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I was the only one in my family to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
WOW! My new favorite recipe . Very easy to make and my children love it. Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Delicious! I was pleasantly surprised at how good this simple recipe came out! Also surprised at how much it rose. I only made half the recipe because I only had enough buttermilk for one loaf. Also, I used lowfat buttermilk and it is wonderful. I think i will try making it again into little loaves with pumpkin pie spices and maybe some chopped up prunes or cranberries! If it works out they'll make great holiday gifts! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This one was a nice change for us! I rarely use whole wheat flour, but had some and chose this recipe. Since there are just two of us, I made 1/4 the recipe using a small loaf pan that's volume is about half as much as a regular 9x5 loaf pan. I did cut the sugar in half, per other reviewers suggestions. I baked mine for 40 minutes and it tested done with a toothpick. I did think it was just a bit dry, but maybe I over-baked it. I'm anxious to try the leftovers toasted. I think it will be even better! Thanks for the recipe! UPDATE: We tried toasting this and it is even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Super easy AND tasty!!!! Doesn't get better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Different, but good. Tastes alot like sweetened cornbread. I would make it again. Followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
One of the best recipes I have in my extensive recipe collection! So easy to make. Rich, moist, and delicious! Low in cholesterol because it contains no eggs, nor shortening of any kind, but it is a bit high in sodium. The recipe I use is for a single loaf. We use this bread for Communion at church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Canterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I love that this is so easy to make AND it tastes good! I think it's best warm out of the oven. Also, I reduce the sugar to half of what the recipe calls for, and it is still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States