Swope Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This is tasty and chewy. I forgot to dissolve the baking soda in the buttermilk first and it came out nicely anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have only one(!) 9x5 bread pan so I cut the recipe in half, used low fat buttermilk and cut the sugar to 1/4 cup. It came out wonderfully delicious! My husband wants me to make it instead of buying bread at the store. I suppose I should buy a second bread pan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kutterba

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Silverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
So easy and so good. Next time I will try a little less sugar but great as written. Had to use milk soured with vinegar and it worked just fine. Be sure the soda is all dissolved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Very simple to through together... the final product did seem to be rather dense... but the bread had great flavor even though I cut the sugar back by half... will definitely make again if a need a bread but don't have prep time for kneading...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was ok but we all thought it had a slightly odd flavor and was way too sweet, even though I reduced the sugar. Probably won't make again, although I'd love to find a quick substitute for yeast bread when I've run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
The creator of this recipe can not be serious when calling this wheat bread. 1 cup of sugar made this cake...a cake without any added flavor like vanilla or cinnamon. It reminded me of a sweet, a very sweet cornbread. It would probably be good if you turned it into a banana or another sweet bread. I was looking for wheat bread....a huge dissapointment
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
So I don't like having to substitute, but had to thinking I had three cups buttermilk instead of two - was gonna make 3/4 recipe. Anyway, stuck with the 3/4 plan using 2c buttermilk & 1c Greek yogurt. Added sugar as listed since that yogurt is a bit cheesy (if you know what I mean. & if you don't, try it - you will. ;D) I thought it was okay. Kids thought it was "too brown." :D 'Wish they liked it. Oh, in one of the three miniloaves I made, I added a heaping eighth teaspoon cinnamon. It was just barely noticeable. 'More would've been fine. It's pretty dense, as expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gehbienes
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This is definitely an easy bread to make. I love that there's no yeast in it - makes it mighty quick to make. Personally, I love the sweetness of it, but if you're not into it you could easily cut down on the sugar to maybe 2/3 cup. Still, it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gehbienes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My only change was using Splenda in place of sugar. I have mixed feelings about this bread. It was incredibly quick and easy to throw together but it was far from my favorite. I took some to my mother and she thought it was really good. I'm sure it would complement some dishes, as it is very dense and hearty. I actually think it would taste pretty good using 100% all-purpose flour but that would take all the nutrition out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
First time buying 100% whole wheat flour. I found this recipe on the side, but I cut in half,and I added splenda about 4 or 5 pks, I used Fat Free milk and I used 4 pks of Also Salt (salt subsitiute) Turn out great, not to sweet and not salty. I think next time I may just add 2 or 3 pks of splenda. Just because I don't care to much for sweet bread. I am glad to have to use regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States