Swiss White Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This cake has only been out of the oven an hour, and I had to come and rave. Tomorrow I'm frosting and serving, but had a couple nibbles, and this cake is FABULOUS. It's the lightest, airiest, most wonderfully moist cake I have ever made. For anyone who said it came out heavy, must not have made it right, or cut a few corners, because the texture and crumb is exceptional when you take the time to really do every "fickle" step just right. I made just a few changes: I used 2 3/4 cups of cake flour instead of 2 1/2 of all-purpose, and an 11.5 oz bag of white chocolate chips, melted with just over a 1/2 cup hot water. I baked in 2 8" round cake pans and 1 9" round cake pan at 325 for about 27 minutes, and they came out perfect (even in 2 different size pans). Cannot wait to frost it tomorrow, and hubby will end up with the best birthday cake I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I probably shouldn't rate this yet, but it's late and I'm annoyed at being up due to the fact that this cake took a good hour to bake rather than the 30 minutes! I ended up turning the temp down to 300 after the first half hour and the top is still a dark golden brown! Also, I haven't tasted a whole piece yet, but the bottom is chewy like a cookie and tastes EXACTLY like a sugar cookie... maybe I'll come back to this tomorrow when I've had an actual piece, but for now, I'm not rating very high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is the tastiest cake ever. I have given it to friends and they just love it. Have tried it with coconut and chopped pecans also and is just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Subbed vanilla yogurt for buttermilk since I didn't have any. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This cake is luscious and amazingly moist and melt-in-your-mouth good. The texture was PERFECT, but the cooking time was definitely guess work. I used two 9 inch pans and I cooked them a few minutes longer than it suggested. When the cake started to get slightly more golden on top than I though was best, (mostly because it makes me nervous that it will be burned!) I turned down the oven, let out some heat, and moved it to the lower rack of the oven to finish. That seemed to help. Also, it definitely needs more white chocolate. I used almost double the white chocolate and the flavor was only faintly white chocolaty. I made an icing out of cream cheese, butter, a bit of vanilla extract, powdered sugar and a whole bag of ghiradelli white chocolate chips. I would recommended those over any other white chocolate, to be honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This was really good and I will make it again for sure, but I was disappointed with the white chocolate flavor. I wish it had been more of it. However the texture was great and it still tasted amazing just not as white chocolatey as I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
THIS IS THE BEST WHITE CHOCOLATE CAKE YET!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
This cake made a very light and airy batter, but it totally fell and each layer was only about 1/2 inch tall. The bottom of the cake was a layer of uncooked "grease". The taste was also off. I bake a lot and this cake recipe is just not right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TSierra

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
It was FANTASTIC!! Such a good cake!! the flavor was just right and I made it with peach marmalade filling and it was GREAT!! Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ladyv1
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I have maded this cake for years !!!!! I really love this cake!! I melt the white chocolate in the micro. for 40 sec.with 1/4 cup of water instead of 1/2 cup, then stir and cool before adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States