Swiss Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Had to double flour mixture and added celery on last step. Came out great, very tender and wife and I ate til we were catatonic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Added a few steps - chicken-fried the steak (had better luck with the coating) put in a 9x13 baking pan, added the peppers, tomatoes and onion, covered and baked at 350 for approximately one hour. Tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
used red and yellow peppers,and used fresh tomato's out of the garden.the whole family loved it.....(-:..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I did this in the crockpot for about 5 1/2 hrs. I tasted at the end and definitely thought it need more sauce and seasoning...so I added in about a cup more water, a bouillon cube and some garlic powder...also added a flour water slurry to thicken it up a bit. Served it over egg noodles, topped with some chopped fresh parsley, and it was devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I had never made Swiss steak and came upon this recipe, now i make it at least once a month for myself and my husband and we love it. I never do anything different, except I use chicken stock in place of water. Also, I sometimes use tenderizer on an inexpensive cut of beef, but as long as the beef is pounded out and cooked for the time stated, it really isn't necessary, it is nice and tender. We eat ours with steamed jasmine rice, yummy! Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I have made this recipe several times. The first time as written, the next time I substituted boneless pork chops. Great flavor and my husband loves it. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was great! I also baked it and added about a cup of beef broth and a tsp of Worcestershire sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
My daughter had a similar dish at a friend's cattle branding, but it was prepared by the chuck wagon in a Dutch oven over a fire. She kept describing it & asking me to prepare it, so I went searching for a recipe & this is the one I settled on. She says it is mighty close to what they ate at branding. My family went crazy over it & it is now on our list of family favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Steak Pizzaiola

See how to make the ultimate summer steak and tomato-sauce dish.

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States