Swiss Steak Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
THIS IS MUCH BETTER THAN PLAIN OLD BEEF STEW. I ADD GARLIC, CARROTS, AND CANNED MUSHROOMS. I USE FROZEN CORN AND ADD FROZEN GREEN BEANS AT THE SAME TIME. I AM MAKING RIGHT NOW FOR THE SECOND TIME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
I made this for the first time yesterday and thought it was a bit bland. My family ate it but thought it was just okay. We like lots of flavor and this didn't really have it. I did add garlic, carrots, mushrooms, and left out the corn. Maybe someone can post ideas on how to spice it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
"Just Like Mom's" is a term I use carefully, but this recipe deserves the title. I made this last fall, and now that the weather has changed again, I am ready for more. This was one of my favorite childhood dishes and Mom has lost her recipe, so I shared this one with her! Excellent over egg noodles. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Super easy! Great results! I cut the meat in strips, and cooked it only 5 hours - perfect! Also, I didn't need to cook the stew 25 more minutes after adding the corn; after 5 minutes, the corn was hot. I added 1/4 tsp. garlic powder and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the flour - would do that again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This was an okay recipe. In a pinch, I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2001
This stew recipe was very easy and in-expensive to make, and the best part was it tasted good too! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
This recipe was great. I added carrots for additional color and vitamins. The kids loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Good recipe. Its always great to find easy recipes for the slow cooker. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2001
This was quick,simple and delicious. The steak turned out very tender and yummy... an excellent one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2001
I omitted the corn since my family doesn't care for the vegetable. I also browned the meat in a Presto Multi Cooker and then added the remaining ingredients instead of using a slow cooker. This saved on time, as the stew was ready to eat in 2 hours. The recipe was very easy to make and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States