Swiss Steak Quick and Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I loved this. The only thing I did differently was to cook it all in the crock pot and it was delicious! The meat got really tender and the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
All I can say is very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FATBOY31

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Springfield, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I made this dish last night and it was pretty good. Neither my daughter or I had ever had Swiss Steak but it is something that my hubby had once and requested I master (LOL). I made both noodles and mashed potatoes to see which we liked better and they both liked the noodles better but I didn't care either way. Here are the ways I changed it up though, and it worked for us... I deglazed the pan after browning the meat with beef broth and added about 1 cup because my hubby always likes extra "sauce". It was still really skimpy on sauce and I started to worry about the tomato to beef flavor ratio so I added 1 - 15 oz can of tomato sauce. It turned out great and my hubby and DD requested to have it again soon! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I thought I would never like Swiss Steak, but my husband said it was a favorite of his so I thought I would give it a try ---- *****JACKPOT*****!!!!! This was wonderful.....Thanks Helene!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenmits

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Tega Cay, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was a great recipe for Swiss Steak. I love cooking with wine, so I added 1/2 cup of Burgundy and thought it added a lot. Also, I had to simmer mine for just over an hour until the meat was tender. Throw this on some mashed potatoes and you have an awesome comfort dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Very good recipe...the whole family liked it, and that is rare to find around here..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Easy and delicious. One of those "stuff your face until you pop" meals. I make homemade mashed potatoes instead of noodles and make a pile on the plate, stack the steak on top and then pour the gravy over. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackberrygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Camby, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I used some red wine to deglaze the pan and also to the sauce because my family loves gravy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waianae, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ULTRAGIRL
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This had great flavor and was easy to prepare. It has a real comfort food feel. I made it on a weeknight after work, and we still ate at a reasonable time! I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed because it's what I had in the pantry. My husband kept saying "this is really good..." while he ate :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Yum! So easy, too. I put this in my crockpot / slow cooker for 9 hours on low. Came out perfectly tender. I did add onion powder and garlic powder. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States