Swiss Steak Quick and Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
MMMMMMM! I had never attempted swiss steak before, and I'm so glad I found this recipe. What a simple, economical, and delicious meal! I made only a few changes. I deglazed the pan, with the tomotos and a bit of water, before adding everything else in. I also added in some celery, a carrot, and a bell pepper... the more veggies in the pot... the more my toddler will eat! I served with mashed potatos. We had a cold and rainy day here... this was perfect... EVERYONE loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucumcari, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
Fantastic! Made this with sirloin steak cut into strips - it was all I had on hand. Everything else I followed the recipe and put it all in the crock pot to cook all day. What a quick, easy, delicious meal! I'll definitly make this one again. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char2008

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Excellent. I did add seasoned salt to the flour before dredging. Other than that followed to a "T". Good flavor, cube steak was quite tender. Served with Mashed Potatoes instead of egg noodles. Thanks for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Totally awesome!!! Hubby and I used to get a sandwich from a little home town bar and never could come close to coping it...this recipe is wonderful and taste just like that sandwich we used to get...Thank you so much Helene...Hubby is very happy...this recipe is a for sure keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
Delicious! My whole family liked this recipe, I highly recommend it. I only made a few changes; 2 pound cube steaks ? 1kg bottom round Gravy Powder? ½ can of tinned gravy +Added about 2 tsp. of garlic +More vegetable oil +A bit of Red wine +A bit of Worcestershire Sauce +A bit of tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is EXCELLENT! Doubled the recipe and added lemon pepper to the flour when dredging. Used italian style canned tomatoes and the crock pot. Could not ask for a better cool weather meal.We had noodles this time, looking forward to mashed potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watsonville, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Made with a few alterations. I added some paprika for one. Since I didn't have the gravy mix, I used some chicken bouillon and made a gravy thickening. Just let it simmer and was excellent on mashed potatoes! Quick and easy.....and GOOD!! Make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This was a great recipe for Swiss Steak. I love cooking with wine, so I added 1/2 cup of Burgundy and thought it added a lot. Also, I had to simmer mine for just over an hour until the meat was tender. Throw this on some mashed potatoes and you have an awesome comfort dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I made this dish last night and it was pretty good. Neither my daughter or I had ever had Swiss Steak but it is something that my hubby had once and requested I master (LOL). I made both noodles and mashed potatoes to see which we liked better and they both liked the noodles better but I didn't care either way. Here are the ways I changed it up though, and it worked for us... I deglazed the pan after browning the meat with beef broth and added about 1 cup because my hubby always likes extra "sauce". It was still really skimpy on sauce and I started to worry about the tomato to beef flavor ratio so I added 1 - 15 oz can of tomato sauce. It turned out great and my hubby and DD requested to have it again soon! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ludington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This recipe was easy and delicious. I made a few variations. I used cube steak in place of the round steak and I baked it in the oven for @ 350 for 1 1/2. I also covered it with foil while it baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States