Swiss Steak Quick and Easy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Easy to make a very enjoyable! We both liked it and the beef is nice and tender after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Meg LW Owner
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
LOVE this, always hard to please a 8 year old girl, tonight was her first finished day of third grade and she requested this for her supper, I also added a photo :-) YUM thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg LW Owner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I followed it exactly, except added a bell pepper and garlic, and it was GOOD - but tasted like gourmet Hamburger Helper. With cube steak being $6/lb and me feeding 7 people, I could have saved quite a bit of grocery money going a different direction. Again, good recipe, just not the "wow" factor for the cost. Back when cube steak was cheap I may have had a completely different opinion about the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Quick and tasty. I added some red wine to deglaze as suggested by others. Cooked it entirely on the stovetop. Doubled the sauce so that there was more to go on the noodles. Mine still needed a little more flavor so I added some beef stock and tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was really good! I did not have brown gravy mix so I just used beef broth and flour to make a gravy. I also used top round London broil/ steak. I did brown the meat first and then cooked it in the crock. I always find the meat is tastier and not as tough when you brown it first. Next time I'm going to add carrots and green beans to make it a one dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Lindenhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Was pretty good. Was missing something. Maybe westershire sauce or even some ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Very delicious. Similar to beef stew. The meat comes out very tender, and it is easy enough for my husband to make! I didn't bother to brown the meat because I was throwing it together in a crockpot at 7:30am. It was still amazing anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AddiesMom6

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
This was a pretty delicious dinner. I only used 1 can of diced tomatoes (my family members are not huge tomato fans at all) and then supplemented w/ filling the now-empty can (from the tomatoes) with tomato juice & then rinsing the can w/ about 1/3 full of water & added that to the mix. Everyone loved this dinner. I'm also saving it for my niece who is newly married & on the lookout for recipes to fill out her bag of tricks with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was easy as promised and tasted great. I also used about a 1/4 cup of cabernet sauvingon wine to deglaze and then 1/2 cup more while it was simmering which really added some depth. The brown gravy mixes were .87 ounces (couldn't find the 1.2 oz bags) so I just used 1 bag and it was fine with a little bit of salt. Definitely comforting and it would be awesome on top of mashed potatoes as others have mentioned. Didn't' use the cube steaks as had a round steak roast on hand - that came out tough, so if I am stuck with that again, might throw it all in the slow cooker (with the onions towards the end). So glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Seared the cubed steaks. Put them in the crockpot with the onion, salt/pepper, gravy mix, stewed toms. Left out the mushrooms (not a fave). Left it in the crockpit for 3 hours on high and then on low until dinner time. Served it with Idahoan mashed potatoes, roasted brussel sprouts and Sister Shubert's yeast rolls. To die for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Paella

See how to make a quick version of classic Spanish paella with shrimp & sausage.

Easy Steak Sandwich

See how to make a sub shop-style cheese steak sandwich.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States