Swiss Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I'm not sure why this is called Swiss Potato Soup since it uses cheddar. I used swiss cheese and it's amazing that way! I used chicken stock instead of boullion and tossed in a little cooked crumbled bacon that I had on hand. This way I only had to add a pinch of salt. The thickness is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amazon3Runner
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Loved this. Definitely added more potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
After reading other reviews, I increased to 1/2 medium onion, 3 cups potatoes, and substituted 1 can chicken broth & 1 bouillon cube (instead of 1 c water & 3 bouillon cubes). Also added 2 c frozen corn. This hit the spot on a cold Nebraska day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I am going to try this tonight but thought it would call for swiss cheese since the name is Swiss Potato Soup???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very very good flavor in this soup. I added 3 cups of potatoes, but sure wished I'd used another 2. I only added about 1/8 tsp black pepper to the soup before I served it. I'd give this 5 stars if I didn't think it needed double the potatoes called for. As it is though, it wouldn't feed 4 people, as it only fed 2 here. My son had seconds (he's a growing teen). Definitely a keeper. Thanks Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Super delish!!! Like other reviewers, I added more potatoes. I used almost 4 cups. This was really quick and didn't call for lots of ingredients. It has a wonderful taste...two of my children (6 yr old and 3 yr old) insisted on having a serving right away! I can't wait for hubby to come home for dinner! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Two cups of potatoes are not enough.. I ended up using three medium size potatoes. I didn't think the soup was thick enough so next time I'll use a little more flour. As for taste... This is a five star soup. I ate three bowls of soup and skipped the rest of my lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
I replaced the water with chicken stock, omitted the boullion and used more potatoes. All in all, a very delicious and satisfying soup. Thanks so much Sue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
My husband loves this soup! He likes a little more onion though, and chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
This was great; quick, cheep and very tasty! I have nine chilren and all but one loved it. The one that didn't doesn't like potatos, so I wasn't surprised. :) Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States