Swiss 'n' Bacon Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Good starting point. I read through the reviews before I started this recipe, then I took it and ran with it. Thanks for the ideas--this was a great way to use a couple rolls of the reduced fat crescent roll dough I couponed for next to nothing and odds and ends from my fridge to make a kid-friendly dinner night sans Daddy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
While I am sure this is not a healthy recipe, everytime I've made it I have received rave reviews. It is delicious! I actually think it tastes better the next day after the topping have melted into the biscuit dough. I love the taste of the biscuit dough and would not want to substitute regular pizza crust. I do think adding a little extra cheese helps the recipe, and I skip the onions because I don't like them. I didn't have any basil, so I skipped that too. Overall, this was incredibly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I do not like onion on pizza, and I also can't handle pieces of cooked tomato so "juiced" the tomato and used like a sauce. I really couldn't figure out why it needs full-fat mayo. I always use Miracle Whip, and *never* have full-fat around, so there wasn't a lot of option other than buying a jar and wasting the rest. I did have some packets of real mayo from restaurants, so I used that, and then filled in the other half with the low-fat Miracle Whip I have around. It worked just fine, and if I made it again, I'd try using all low-fat Miracle Whip. I couldn't taste it very well anyway. I mostly tasted biscuit, bacon and Swiss. I had no issues with using biscuits for this, so no it's not a "bad" idea - simply a personal preference. I always have trouble getting dough things to pinch together, but fortunately it wasn't a huge deal as it just pulled apart when done into a few uneven pieces. It was good, and a bit different, but not "great." I certainly would make it again, whenever I allow myself to buy another package of bacon. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I thought this was super good. I made 2, a smaller one for my boys with colby since they don't like swiss, and one as is, but with pizza dough instead of biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this on pita bread so I could eat it today--I don't have refrigerated biscuit dough and didn't feel like making biscuits. So I just spread the mix on the pita and baked until the cheese melted, about 10 minutes. It's actually not a bad combo; I was worried about the mayo (not a mayo fan) but I just put enough mayo in the mixture to hold it together. Somewhat rich, but works as a quick lunch for me, and I like the tomato bacon combo. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was really good but be forewarned: it is really rich. Both my husband and I could only eat one slice a piece. I did adjust the recipe a little, but only to make a larger pizza, essentially I doubled most of the ingredients. I will definitely make this again but probably stick to what the recipe states and make half as much as I made this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
the biscuits are a BAD idea. Do the same toppings and use pizza dough - that tastes good. THIS does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made this as a main dish-great tasting. Really different plus it was quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Yum Yum Yum. My whole family really liked this. I cooked the onions with the bacon and added about a tbsp of minced garlic. It was so good. I served with a garden salad for a complete and tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Enjoyed the flavor, but there wasn't enough of the topping to cover the biscuit dough. Next time will double the mayo and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States