Swiss Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Absolute hit always!! I have been making this dish for years. You must use Swiss cheese..no exceptions on this. We like French cut or Italian beans better. I also add (to taste) some wasabi powder or horseradish to the sour cream mixture. My hubby is not a big veggie eater, but will eat a huge bowl of this. Be creative with the toppings. I usually use whatever box of flavored crackers we have in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is a holiday staple at our house. After you eat these green beans, the old "classic" green bean casserole just doesn't make the cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I have to admit green beans are not my favorite vegetable, probably stems from my Mom burning the out of them each and every time she made them when I was a kid. Anyway, I had purchased a bag of frozen Italian green beans by mistake and went searching for a way to use them. This recipe made them seem very palatable! Since my husband is on a low carb kick, I made a few modifications for that eating preference: using flaxseed meal instead of flour, Truvia instead of sugar and crushed up pork rinds instead of cornflakes. He really liked it, I however am still on the fence about green beans. Thank you Christine for sharing this recipe and giving me a new way to prepare green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I enjoyed this because it was a new and interesting way of making green beans, however, they seemed to be missing something. Not one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sage12177

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I love this recipe because I'm not using canned 'cream of' soup. It's very cheesy and good. I substitute french fried onions on top for the corn flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VenturaMama77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I rated this as I did because I make adjustments to the recipe. I can't remember when I didn't make this caserole. I make a few changes though. I make it in a 9 x 13 glass pan and I double the sour cream topping. I don't double beans though. Make sure you use french cut canned grean beans. Makes a WORLD of difference!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This recipe has been in my family for years and I can't go to any holiday gathering without it or they won't let me in the door!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Love this recipe...it is easy (apart from having to grate all that swiss cheese!) and gets applause every time. It is a great item for a pot luck and is my staple thanksgiving dinner contribution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
I made this last Thanksgiving and forgot to rate it until now. I left out the salt, thinking it wouldn't need it with the butter and cheese, but it needed it! First bite was very bland, but when I added salt to my serving it made a huge difference. Nice change from the usual green bean casserole -- will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
The bean part was okay, but we liked the cereal topping most. 'Kind of the usual creamy base to green bean casserole. Oh, I used cheddar. Maybe it would rate higher with swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States