Swiss Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
It looks like I'm one of the few, if not the only one, who prepared this recipe as written. No add ins, no changes in amounts, no substitutions. And I DID use the full 2 cups of cream, which was just perfect. Having said that, I believe this is a good, 3-star recipe, which in my book means average--not bad, but not extraordinarily good either. This was surprisingly nondescript, both in color and flavor. Some might describe it as bland, hubby said it "needed something." Even using the entire can of green chilies would have given this a flavor punch, and you might want to kick it up with maybe cumin, jalapeno, or hot sauce. Nevertheless, this made for an enjoyable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
This recipe is fabulous!!! I did change it a bit, and will probably change it more the next time I make it. I added 4oz cream cheese, nuked it to make it soft, then added the cream, salt and pepper. I also added spinach to the chicken mixture. Next time I will add additional veggies to the chicken mixture - this is a ton of calories, so I need to disguise some veggies for my family! Maybe some corn, bell pepper, and tomatoes. I used regular salsa (Kroger Premium Selection Restaurant Style - my FAVE!) and 2 4oz cans of green chiles, and used a rotisserie chicken bought at the grocery store, cut up. (I was not about to cook chicken when I had worked all day!) I used flour tortillas because I don't care for corn, and didn't fry them - I loved the texture of the flour tortillas, it was soft but where the cheese melted was crispy and bubbly! I also used 8oz of Jack cheese, who needs a little bit left over, it goes bad! ;) Overall this is fabulous, definitely the best enchiladas I've had! Thank you for sharing, it will definitely be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Excellent! If you are looking for a more authentic enchilada suiza, and not some gloppy canned soup mess, try this recipe. My husband could not stop raving about them...said they were better than any he had in restaurants. I added the whole can of chili's,and also added about 1/2 pack of cream cheese to the mixture, just because I had it. Would be excellent with seafood too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I substituted low fat half & half for the whipping cream as well as white corn tortillas (one-half as many calories). My family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
I followed the original recipe and I thought it was a little bland. Don't get me wrong, the dish was good but next time I'll add granulated garlic and maybe some onion powder. I'll definitely use FRESH long green chile. I might garnish with fresh chopped cilantro. To roast chilies at home: Place chilies on a hot grill or in your ovens broiler. Be sure to rotate the chilies to allow the skin to blacken and blister all around. Place chilies in a large zip lock, then wrap the bag of chilies in a clean kitchen towel(the steam will loosen the skin). After the chilies have cooled to room temp peel the skin off and discard (the skin). Cut chilies into long strips or dice them up. ***You can freeze any unused chilies for future use.***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I was not impressed with these at all. They need more kick in my opinion. I think I'll stick with Whit's Chicken Enchiladas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This was a great recipe for my family and I. Thank you for putting it in here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I have made a similar version for years and is a family favorite. Leave out the chilie salsa, but add 1 6oz can of tomatoe paste. I use milk not cream and add 6 chicken bullion cubes. You can use swiss cheese on top (where the name came from). There is no heat to this recipe, but we love it anyway and we are a family that loves hot spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
I used half the whipping cream, and mixed in 4 oz. of cream cheese to dip the tortillas in. It was amazing! Next time I'll double that mix (two cups whipping cream with 8 oz. of cream cheese) and put some on the inside with the chicken. I made these enchiladas with the Fiesta Cheese Rice from this site. Delicious! Boyfriend said it was a keeper right off the bat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I thought this recipe was delicious. I didn't buy already cooked chicken, I just took a few chicken breasts and chopped them up and fried them with seasonings, like garlic and onion powder, minced onions and some Ms. Dash. I also added cream cheese, which I think was a great choice, but I also added some canned jalapeños to spice it up a little more. All in all, this recipe was great, but has a lot of calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States