Swiss Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I too grew to love Enchiladas Suizas in Mexico, especially those at Sanborn's. This is pretty close. For those of you who think it is too bland , use pepper jack cheese and I think you will find it is just right. Glad to find this recipe. So easy, so good. Oh, and if you have some left over chicken, that is a good addition. I don't know about cream cheese but I suppose some people would like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
AWESOME!! I really liked these; we used tomatillo salsa because that's a flavor we really enjoy. Everybody went back for seconds on these guys! Thanks a lot; will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Quick Easy and Really Tasty. This recipe is a keeper. The only deviation I made was to toast the tortillas on a gas burner instead of Frying them in oil. Just like the $12.00 versions in the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaileybend
Home Town: Wishek, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I "started" to make this recipe "exactly" as presented but at the last minute added 1/2 cup of shredded Swiss cheese to the 1- 1/2 cups Monterey Jack thinking that it can't be Suize Enchiladas without Swiss cheese! Then 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg. This is now my Suize Enchilada recipe, it is the best I have had since I first tasted it in Northern Italy, yes that's right, Northern Italy, it's amazing where recipe's originate. I visit the Lake Region of Northern Italy every year and next year I will discover what the Swiss/Italian population uses in place of the tortilla. I'll bet it is pretty close to the flour tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elizabeth32

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Yarmouth, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This recipe was really good as is. I made the first 6 as it which were really good and with the other six I added some jalapeno and onion to the mix which made it that much better!!! Thanks for an easy and amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I was glad to read a couple reviews that suggested additions. I used some leftover veggie flavor cream cheese (melted) and replaced 1 cup of cream with 1 cup of sour cream. I reduced the amount of green chili by half and added a whole chopped green pepper and also added a shredded carrot. After placing remaining cream on top of the enchiladas and before covering with cheese, I added a few tablespoons of chopped cilantro leaves. My family loved this; the only thing they would have liked was a bit of salsa verde sprinkled on top when served. I will try that next time (and there *will* be a next time).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
So simple and straight forward. I have made this several times! It is the best recipe hands down! Ive used leftover chicken, yes, canned chicken (Kirkland brand only) and rotisserie chicken. Hubby and kids love it. Serve with salsa or avocado on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These were wonderful. I have made tons of chicken enchiladas in my life, but this may become the new go to formula! They were great. I added a little cream cheese, cheddar and green onions to the filling just to use up some stuff in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
awesome enchiladas. I also substitute lump crab meat and small shrimp instead of the chicken. Either way it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Ingram

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is the only recipe for enchiladas I've found which are really mexican.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Enchiladas II

These saucy beef enchiladas are simple and quick to make.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Enchanted Sour Cream Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make saucy, New Mexico-style chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States