Swiss Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This cake was the best!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is the first time making this cake and I made this cake today for my husband's birthday and it turned out beautifully. Very good and rich! And I don't even cook or bake often. For those of you who don't know how to do the double boiler, fill a large pan up with water to boil and put the mixing bowl containing the eggs and sugar on top of it, then stir until it thickens. For the chocolate torte frosting, I only used 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup. And it still turned out very good! Yummy! You will also be satisfied with only 1 slice of cake. And it taste delicious with a glass of milk too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Absolutely delicious! This cake is silky smooth as can be, fairly dense and moist yet not 'heavy' or too rich. I think that's due in part to the cake flour and in part to the sifting. As the men who tried it said, it's not 'gaggingly sweet' like they feel most chocolate cakes are. I also used the chocolate torte frosting as recommended, and sprinkled chopped pecans on top of the frosting in the middle layer. I will DEFINITELY be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I try this cake at home for my friends this was my first time doing it from scratch it was very good and it melts in your mouth and my friends love it I am going to try this recipe often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by italiagurl112
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
So yummy and i baked mine in a shape of a heart hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Amazing cake! Very moist, easy and chocolatey; Came out beautifully! Thank you for this recipe :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Excellent!!! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
this cake is lovely! i made it last week for my friends birthday and it got rave reviews. i added chopped peacans to the sandwich layer, as recommended by another reviewer and it was yummy. the texture is so good! it hasnt got a really chocolatey taste, so im thinking of trying it with some added chocolate chips next time i try it. ive also just made a variation of this but unstead of the chocolate and vanilla i added sultanas, apple and cinammon. i didnt sandwhich the cakes together, just dusted each with icing sugar and have 2 cakes instead if one. theyve turned out really well. my boyfriend and his flatmates have pretty much devoured both of them already. this really is a fantastic cake recipe, the texture is just gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was awesome with the coffee flavored icing I made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tumble4me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
scrumptious! (even without the food coloring :P)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States