Swiss Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Absolutely delicious! This cake is silky smooth as can be, fairly dense and moist yet not 'heavy' or too rich. I think that's due in part to the cake flour and in part to the sifting. As the men who tried it said, it's not 'gaggingly sweet' like they feel most chocolate cakes are. I also used the chocolate torte frosting as recommended, and sprinkled chopped pecans on top of the frosting in the middle layer. I will DEFINITELY be making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
This cake was the best!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I try this cake at home for my friends this was my first time doing it from scratch it was very good and it melts in your mouth and my friends love it I am going to try this recipe often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This is the first time making this cake and I made this cake today for my husband's birthday and it turned out beautifully. Very good and rich! And I don't even cook or bake often. For those of you who don't know how to do the double boiler, fill a large pan up with water to boil and put the mixing bowl containing the eggs and sugar on top of it, then stir until it thickens. For the chocolate torte frosting, I only used 3/4 cup sugar instead of 1 cup. And it still turned out very good! Yummy! You will also be satisfied with only 1 slice of cake. And it taste delicious with a glass of milk too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Dry and heavy. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but I make all my cakes from scratch and never had one turn out like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used normal milk instead of condensed milk (was by accident) and baked it for an hour, did turn out quite fudge like. I also used raw sugar and that seemed to work ok. I put tiny chocolate bits in the recipe, and didn't use any colouring so it looked like a vanilla cake with chocolate spots in it! All in all a good recipe, although not your traditional spongy chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is a really good recipe for chocolate cake. I had made it last year at christmas time with candycanes sprinkled on top!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
This cake was very heavy and not what I was looking for. My husband thought it was brownies. It is also very rich. A small slice goes a long way. It did taste good however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Very easy recipe and makes a gorgeous cake that was perfect for my mum's birthday
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perversia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stockport, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Extremely disappointed in this. Followed recipe to the letter. I wanted another chocolate cake recipe to add to my "fab" collection. This is not it. Too crumbly, the batter overfilled my two pans. Will NOT make this again. EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States