Swiss Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Dry and heavy. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but I make all my cakes from scratch and never had one turn out like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I used normal milk instead of condensed milk (was by accident) and baked it for an hour, did turn out quite fudge like. I also used raw sugar and that seemed to work ok. I put tiny chocolate bits in the recipe, and didn't use any colouring so it looked like a vanilla cake with chocolate spots in it! All in all a good recipe, although not your traditional spongy chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Extremely disappointed in this. Followed recipe to the letter. I wanted another chocolate cake recipe to add to my "fab" collection. This is not it. Too crumbly, the batter overfilled my two pans. Will NOT make this again. EVER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is a really good recipe for chocolate cake. I had made it last year at christmas time with candycanes sprinkled on top!! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This cake turned out very nice. Not my favorite cake of all time but it was a very good basic cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyofshallot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
this cake is lovely! i made it last week for my friends birthday and it got rave reviews. i added chopped peacans to the sandwich layer, as recommended by another reviewer and it was yummy. the texture is so good! it hasnt got a really chocolatey taste, so im thinking of trying it with some added chocolate chips next time i try it. ive also just made a variation of this but unstead of the chocolate and vanilla i added sultanas, apple and cinammon. i didnt sandwhich the cakes together, just dusted each with icing sugar and have 2 cakes instead if one. theyve turned out really well. my boyfriend and his flatmates have pretty much devoured both of them already. this really is a fantastic cake recipe, the texture is just gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
Excellent!!! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Amazing cake! Very moist, easy and chocolatey; Came out beautifully! Thank you for this recipe :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Timiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
For some reason, it didn't seem to rise so much for me. Considering the other reviews, i figure it must have been something ive done, so ill probably try this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by italiagurl112
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
So yummy and i baked mine in a shape of a heart hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States