Swiss Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This recipe has a lot of potential to be even better. Substitute 3/4 C. white wine for the water. Only use 1 C. of bread crumbs and a little less butter. Layer chicken, swiss cheese and then pour over your sauce- add a little ground pepper. Top with bread crumbs and drizzle with melted butter. These minor adjustments bring up the flavor quite a bit. This dish goes great with rice pilaf and green beans! This is one of our favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Durham Byrd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I've been making this recipe for years and we love it but instead of the breadcrumbs, I use 8 oz or half a large bag of Pepperidge Farm herb seasoned stuffing, not croutons. It tends to absorb the extra liquid that some people have complained about in this recipe's ratings. Plus it's so delicious! It's just as great microwaved the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I had this recipe already for a few years and have made some adaptations here and there. Our family is now two people so I do this as a two person dish - one whole chicken breast will make two meals - one for now - one for later. I use cream of mushroom soup and 1/2 can of white wine (or chicken broth if you prefer) and combine them. I use croutons instead of bread crumbs - any flavor you like. I also use baby bella mushrooms sliced. So I put down chicken, mushrooms, swiss cheese slices, croutons, soup/wine mixture, and later top with more swiss cheese. All in all the recipe is very good. For us just needed to be beefed up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Great Recipe! Made some personal changes... Sauteed 1/2 large sweet (Vidalia) onion, 1 TBS minced garlic and 1/2 cup fresh mushrooms. Browned 4 chicken breasts, sprinkled with paprika, salt and pepper in 2 TBS olive oil. Placed chicken breasts, onion, garlic and mushrooms in a casserole dish, covered with 1 can Mushroom soup, 1/2 cup white wine and toppped with crushed 12 saltine crackers. Covered with foil and baked 30 minutes. Uncovered, cooked another 15 minutes..... Heavenly and fit for company if plated properly with garnish. Served with wild rice and broccoli with cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Oh, this is one of those really surprising meals that is fairly easy but tastes like you spent $30 at a restaurant. I did make quite a few changes per JUDITH's comments. I started by pounding out 3 very large chicken breasts and then cutting them in half. I sauted crimini mushrooms and vidalia onions in a bit of EVOO and then deglazed the skillet with white wine and continued cooking the mushrooms until just firm. Removed the mushroom/onion mixture to a plate and then sauted the seasoned chicken breasts just until slightly browned (not cooked all they way through). I removed the chicken breasts from the skillet, added back in the mushroom/onion mix. I then mixed the soup (98% fat free) with 1/2 cup of white wine and poured that over and added the chicken breasts back in. Placed 1/2 pieces of 50% reduced fat swiss cheese on the chicken and then just sprinkled with some italian seasoned bread crumbs. Used about 3 T of butter to cover. I then covered the skillet and baked for 30 minutes. Took the cover off, baked for 15 more minutes. I served with roasted red potatoes and fresh french bread. I would make it this way for important company, it was seriously that good. I know it's a few changes but they are well worth making!! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Family loved this recipe. I did change it up a bit, Used one family size can of cream of chicken soup, seasoned chicken breasts with Lawrys Seasoned Salt and added instant rice on top of my chicken before the soup. With the rice, it makes an instant meal for a family, just add a veggie or salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Followed this recipe as is the first time I made it and it was good. Second time I browned the chicken in olive oil. After removing the chicken I sauteed mushrooms and sliced onions spread this over the chicken before adding the swiss cheese. I deglazed the pan with 1/3 cup cooking sherry then blended in the soup and some mrs.dash seasoning. I also cut the crumbs and butter in half. There were no leftovers and hubby now requests it once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, Indiana, USA
Living In: Manton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
when making this, i saute oil, garlic, mushrooms and onions in a pan and add it to the soup mixture. Also, i use mushroom soup and add white wine instead of water. its delish and a really easy minimal-prep recipe. i use it as a "dinner party go to" dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
I made this for dinner last night and it was very good. I added a thin ham slice before the cheese and used wine instead of water as a previous person stated. I also used cream of mushroom soup. A real keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
Everyone I have fixed this recipe for has LOVED it!! I used 1/3 cup of white wine instead of the water and it is even better. This is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States