Swiss Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was delish!! Except that 2 cups of bread crumbs seems to be VERY extreme - the family didn't like that part, so I will cut this down in the future. I also changed it up and included 1/2 a soup can full of heavy cream along with the water. Although it was "soupy", there was a lot of gravy in the end, which was perfect over rice. I also used 2lbs of chicken pieces, cut into chunks, and baked for about 35 minutes. My Swiss Cheese layer was just slices to cover the entire dish, which only took 7 slices. (I got to eat the 8th slice - YUM!) Overall, it was a very simple dish, and one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was so great tasting! I didn't have any breadcrumbs, so I made my own with french bread and italian seasonings. Then after I baked the chicken, I used my convectional oven and browned it real good. It was beautiful as well as , as my husband said, :This is a 4 star hotel recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Philbeck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Used white wine instead of water, pepperjack cheese instead of swiss and added fresh sauteed mushrooms. Fabulous and incredibly easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Oh, this is one of those really surprising meals that is fairly easy but tastes like you spent $30 at a restaurant. I did make quite a few changes per JUDITH's comments. I started by pounding out 3 very large chicken breasts and then cutting them in half. I sauted crimini mushrooms and vidalia onions in a bit of EVOO and then deglazed the skillet with white wine and continued cooking the mushrooms until just firm. Removed the mushroom/onion mixture to a plate and then sauted the seasoned chicken breasts just until slightly browned (not cooked all they way through). I removed the chicken breasts from the skillet, added back in the mushroom/onion mix. I then mixed the soup (98% fat free) with 1/2 cup of white wine and poured that over and added the chicken breasts back in. Placed 1/2 pieces of 50% reduced fat swiss cheese on the chicken and then just sprinkled with some italian seasoned bread crumbs. Used about 3 T of butter to cover. I then covered the skillet and baked for 30 minutes. Took the cover off, baked for 15 more minutes. I served with roasted red potatoes and fresh french bread. I would make it this way for important company, it was seriously that good. I know it's a few changes but they are well worth making!! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very fast and easy, just layered everything like it said, it was a little watery, but when we had it for leftovers it wasn't as much. Baked it for about 20-30 minutes longer than suggested. Very good with brown rice and/or broccoli as a side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I really loved this recipe! It was so simple to make. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was real good..but, not my favorite. I followed the recipe, except I did use white wine instead of water. Great flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
With the added sauteed onion and garlic, and white wine, this recipe is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I recently started using a variation of this recipe and I think it might be my hubby's favorite! Instead of the bread crumbs I use stuffing... it doesn't matter which brand. I use about half a box but my hubby and I love stuffing! I leave out the water entirely and instead blend in about 1/4-1/3 cup of milk. If you pre-cook the chicken on a skillet for a few minutes before hand, you can cut the oven time to about 20-30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is an excellent dish and my kids absolutely love it. However, it is extremely high in fat so I make it with healthy request soup by campbells, no butter and fat free swiss cheese slices. The topping for mine is simply Peppperidge Farm stuffing crumbs mixed with a little bit of chicken bouillon and water to make a thick paste and place it on top of the swiss cheese and chicken. You won't miss the fat and the flavor is excellent. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States