Swiss Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
We like 1/2-3/4 soup can of dry white wine in place of the water. I melt the butter and mix with the seasoned bread crumbs and sprinkle over the top. I also mix garlic, onion and white pepper into the soup per your own taste. You can even make this in 1 pan on your stove top. Cut chicken into bite size pieces and and cook in a little EVOO, garlic, onion and white/black pepper. Add add remaining ingredients and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Did not enjoy this dish... both the husband and I took one bite and were done. My picky 2 year old son however enjoyed it...?? The only plus was the easy cleanup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This was such an easy recipe. The flavors were fun and new and I really loved serving my family, who loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VickiMD03

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Easy to throw together for a quick dinner night. Added some frozen broccoli right in with it. One pot casserole dish for busy moms or dads! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Very tasty, easy recipe. You do NOT need to add any salt! I love salt and I thought it was salty (I did cook w/ some season salt). Sauteed onions and celery and used wine instead of water. Added parm z to the bread crumbs. This will def become a regular in my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Yummy! I like using provolone instead of the swiss. Just a personal preference though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was delish!! Except that 2 cups of bread crumbs seems to be VERY extreme - the family didn't like that part, so I will cut this down in the future. I also changed it up and included 1/2 a soup can full of heavy cream along with the water. Although it was "soupy", there was a lot of gravy in the end, which was perfect over rice. I also used 2lbs of chicken pieces, cut into chunks, and baked for about 35 minutes. My Swiss Cheese layer was just slices to cover the entire dish, which only took 7 slices. (I got to eat the 8th slice - YUM!) Overall, it was a very simple dish, and one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
This was so great tasting! I didn't have any breadcrumbs, so I made my own with french bread and italian seasonings. Then after I baked the chicken, I used my convectional oven and browned it real good. It was beautiful as well as , as my husband said, :This is a 4 star hotel recipe".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Used white wine instead of water, pepperjack cheese instead of swiss and added fresh sauteed mushrooms. Fabulous and incredibly easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Oh, this is one of those really surprising meals that is fairly easy but tastes like you spent $30 at a restaurant. I did make quite a few changes per JUDITH's comments. I started by pounding out 3 very large chicken breasts and then cutting them in half. I sauted crimini mushrooms and vidalia onions in a bit of EVOO and then deglazed the skillet with white wine and continued cooking the mushrooms until just firm. Removed the mushroom/onion mixture to a plate and then sauted the seasoned chicken breasts just until slightly browned (not cooked all they way through). I removed the chicken breasts from the skillet, added back in the mushroom/onion mix. I then mixed the soup (98% fat free) with 1/2 cup of white wine and poured that over and added the chicken breasts back in. Placed 1/2 pieces of 50% reduced fat swiss cheese on the chicken and then just sprinkled with some italian seasoned bread crumbs. Used about 3 T of butter to cover. I then covered the skillet and baked for 30 minutes. Took the cover off, baked for 15 more minutes. I served with roasted red potatoes and fresh french bread. I would make it this way for important company, it was seriously that good. I know it's a few changes but they are well worth making!! Hope you enjoy it as much as we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Savory Chicken Breasts

Baked chicken with a crispy crumb coating and a creamy, savory surprise.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States