Swiss Chicken Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I prepare the stove top chicken or turkey flavor stuffing as directed on the box, then put the chicken in the 9x13 baking pan, top with swiss cheese, mix the cream of chicken soup with 1/4 c of milk, and put the prepared topping mix over all evenly, then drizzle with butter, cover with foil and bake and remove the foil during the last 5 or 10 min. to crisp it up a little. We love it as written except I prepare the stuffing mix before i put it on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Added zucchini, water chestnuts, 2 tsp curry, dash of lemon juice. Saute 2 big pieces of breast, cubed chicken w/ onion & garlic. Cooked stuffing as directed & set aside. Used 1 can of cream of mushroom & 1 can of milk - could use a little less milk. Mixed soup & milk & then added sauted chicken w/ onions & garlic. then added veggies & shredded cheddar cheese. top w/ the stuffing - hard to make it smooth & even. Baked for 30 minutes - kinda long -will reduce time. Flavor was good but not that spicy. Cooking time could have been a little less so chicken would not be as dry. The casserole came out kind of on the soggy side -but it's better than having it dry. Maybe use less milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Delicious! Four thumbs up from our house! However, I skimped on the chicken. I only used two large chicken breasts, and cut them up into bite sized pieces before layering them on the bottom. I think this helped them cook more thoroughly, and also allowed us to take scoops of the casserole, rather than an entire breast--helpful when you're on a diet! I also added about a quarter to a half cup of drizzled water on top of the drizzled margarine, to help the stuffing soften.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I made this for supper tonight - I used 2 cans of soup instead of one. Put soup on the bottom of pan, then chicken, and then soup again, then stuffing - Was perfect -wasn't dry at all - little extra soup was great for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I've made this several times and it's always a hit. I increase the soup to 2 cans and milk to 1/2 cup - I'e never had a problem with it being soupy as others describe. I also use an entire cylinder of Stove Top prepared per instructions but omit the butter. My family thinks I could increase the amount of stuffing even more. Next time I make it I plan to add broccoli or mixed frozen veg as other suggest. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Absolute favorite comfort food! Reminds me of Thanksgiving turkey, gravy, and dressing. Very easy to put together and tasty! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
We loved this recipe! I made a few changes: 1) I cut the chicken breasts in half lengthwise, so that it would cook faster. To compensate, I doubled the soup, milk, and butter. I used two 6oz boxes of herb-seasoned stuffing mix and added a dash of white wine (Moscato) to the soup/milk mixture. I layered frozen broccoli florets after the Swiss cheese and put down the stuffing mix before generously spooning the soup mixture and the butter over the crumbs. I cooked this on 375 degrees for 50 minutes, which came out perfect. Oh, and I sprinkled the chicken with the following seasonings: fresh ground sea salt & black pepper, whole oregano, parsley, celery seed, basil, garlic powder, rosemary, and a little Garden Veggie Dip Mix (Tastefully Simple brand which is basically flakes of red bell pepper, garlic, onion, spinach, carrot, leek, salt, crushed red pepper, oregano, parsley, basil, thyme, & rosemary). So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Very good way to use up my leftovers. I doubled everything, making 2 casseroles, one w/ shredded turkey & mozzarella, the other w/ cubed ham & swiss. I did use fresh stove-top stuffing from the box, although I think the leftover stuffing would have worked fine. I mixed both the cream of chicken & cream of mushroom soups, used evaporated milk,& poured over top of it all to keep stuffing moist. Also added canned corn & peas. Put one in the freezer uncooked for a quick dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Wolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Cache, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
My family loves this recipe! I use 2 cups of soup because we like extra creamy. With the dressing I add a little water and melt the butter and stir it with a fork just to make it a little softer before adding to the top. This has become a regular at our house. No need for salt - it is plenty salty with the soup. I have used both quick and easy Swiss slices and a good deli Swiss... They both taste good but the deli Swiss was a little better. So don't skimp on the Swiss! Yummmm!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Even my pickiest kid finally tried and a LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 894) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States