Swiss Cheese Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I will start by saying that I do not like meatloaf. I made this because my husband likes meatloaf and loves swiss cheese. The only thing I changed was adding some zucchini, squash and carrots that I had run through the food processor. I used the 7% fat ground beef and still had quite a bit of grease that I poured out of the pan, maybe from the cheese. The meatloaf did not slice neatly and looked pretty unappetizing so I was prepared for us to look for an alternative dinner. I was wrong, it was really good (and remember, I don't like meatloaf). My husband took one bite and said, "This may be one of my favorite meals that you make." Wow!! I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicious! Will be making this again for sure. I didn't have sage so I used some thyme and all purpose seasoning, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I put a couple strips of bacon across the top of it and we all loved it. I could tell that this meatloaf would have tasted wonderful even without the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skibizzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was very good, next time I will make it with about a 1/2 cup of Swiss cheese and a different kind of cheese, the Swiss just had too strong of a flavor for me even though I usually love Swiss cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela
Photo by Jersey Tomato
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
How great is this meatloaf?! Love the idea of Swiss cheese... in fact, just about ANY melted cheese topping on a meatloaf makes my mouth water. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Tomato

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
WOW! This was awesome! My husband (who is a meatloaf LOVER) raved about it while eating! I did alter the recipe just a tad. I didn't have any "buttery crackers", but I did have saltines. So I crushed about 20 and melted a half stick of butter and mixed the two. I also didn't have shredded swiss, but I had deli slices! So in the meatloaf I used a parm/oreg cheese blend. And on top I used sliced swiss to melt! Also, I used thyme instead of sage and garlic powder instead of chopped garlic. I also added some savory seasoning for added flavor! All in all this was an excellent dinner! Quick, Easy and GOOD! Great recipe, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAYRA1983

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Just delicious! Made it with half ground turkey and half ground beef - a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
We really liked this-the addition of Swiss and sage gave this meatloaf a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
It seemed a little dry and kind of came out like a brick. The crackers didn't do much for flavour...I thought it would give the meatloaf a slight buttery taste, but they didn't. I probably wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
awesome and so easy to make....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States