Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I thought this was just okay. We make a warm white bean salad that is very similar to this but without a green (other than fresh parsley) and it's much better. I didn't like the texture of the chard... thought it was weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hobbycook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe - my 18 year old daughter who doesn't like chard ate this and had seconds. I made a few changes: I added the cheese at the end and left pot covered so no need to bake as recipe had suggested....I used no butter (didn't miss it), used mozzarella instead of goat cheese (still yummy), and used a 15 oz can of diced petite tomatoes instead of fresh tomato. Substantial recipe and nice textures, served it with a fish recipe and it was a good alternative to rice or potatoes with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I've made this dish a few times and my husband and I love it. We like it best when the recipe is followed exactly. The few times I did not-it was not as good. It is a tasty vitamin powerhouse and a great side dish to just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Excellent! Simple and flavorful. I did use more chard and more cheese. And I just added the cheese at the end and let it sit, covered, in the pan - no baking was necessary. The pintos were very good and I will try black beans next time, as other reviewers suggested. I can see this becoming part of our rotation during chard season. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This was really tasty. My husband had 3 helpings. I have been purchasing new vegetables to branch out from the usual and I'm glad I found this. I too used black beans. I did not put it in the oven. After I cooked it on the stove, I topped it with goat cheese and covered it and the cheese melted down in less than ten minutes. I think most any cheese would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medusa, New York, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This tastes wonderful but the recipe calls for one bunch of chard and you actually need two bunches of chard. There are more pinto beans than anything in this recipe. Try two bunches to even out the flavors and a whole package of goat cheese, not just 3 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I was looking for a way to use up feta cheese and found this one. Followed the recipe as written here. Fun, pretty and delicious. I would have never thought to put these ingredients together, but worked great! Used 1 roma tomato, from now on I'll use two, and experiment with different beans (although the Pinto works great). Was a nice compliment to roast pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Quite delicious - these flavors and textures all go really well together, who wouldv'e guessed?? Very easy and quick to make too..I served this as a side with a simple grilled chicken. I seasoned the chicken breasts with some coriander, tarragon, and a roasted garlic/sesame seed oil - YUM! The spices on the chicken really complemented the earthy flavors in the chard dish...and I added a bit of coriander to the chard also - it was yuuummy :). Next time I'll add more garlic and tomatoes just for my taste, but really this recipe is great as it is. Will become a staple for us, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Ha! I liked this, but did sub quite a bit: asiago cheese for goat, which I just mixed in near the end and didn't bother baking, was great! lemon juice for lime, hot sauce for pepper flakes, oil for butter, spinach for chard, and canned drained pettite diced tomatoes for tomato. Very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States