Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was good. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and 1/8 of a teaspoon of cayanne pepper instead of pepper flakes. I also used black beans instead of pinto. I also did not melt the goat cheese in the oven - it melted fine in the pan. It didn't look very pretty, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I omitted the butter and used canned tomatoes and it turned out really tasty. I also used a half a roasted poblano pepper that I added with the garlic. I didn't bake in the oven, but addeed the goat cheese at serving. Will definitely use this recipe again. Makes a good vegetarian entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This tasted good. I used half a can of diced tomatoes in place of fresh. I think the warm goat milk made my families stomachs' a little upset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Ainslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Holy Swiss chard! This was amazing! I used 2 bunches of chard, one extra garlic clove and several generous dashes of red pepper flakes. I also used more goat cheese than called for (I love it!). I used the pinto beans as called for but used the canned fire roasted tomatoes, well drained, instead of fresh. I served this over Uncle Ben's long grain brown and wild rice (the kind in the pouch that you just heat up for a couple of minutes in the microwave) and the nutty flavor of the rice was a perfect compliment for this dish. My husband and I, yes just the two of us, ate it ALL tonight. We just couldn't help ourselves, it was soooo good! I served it as a vegetarian main dish and it was very satisfying (eating all of it may have had something to do with that, however!) I will definitely be making this again and again! Oh, and this was our first time eating Swiss chard. It's definitely getting planted in the garden next Spring!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
As previously recommended I switched the pinto beans for black beans. I went a little heavier on the red pepper flakes because my husband and I like a lot of heat. It was absolutely delicious. I served it over basmati rice, I loved it. I didn't put it in the oven as directed. I thought that was a bit unnecessary. In a hot pan you can just stir the goat cheese around and it melts just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiberallyGillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is great! I've made it with a number of variations.I would recommend small white beans & fresh tomatoes doubled or tripled!The white beans are more attractive than the reds or blacks. The fresh tomatoes look better too but I need more. I also add more cheese.I use canned if that's all I have. I like the fire roasted diced, drained the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Best. Side dish. Ever. Period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
We loved this recipe! Since I didn't have goat cheese, I used three little triagles of Laughing Cow Garlic & Herb cheese. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Used Feta, black beans instead of pinto. Added extra chard. This recipe was the best! Will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
mmmm wow! i had to sub a few things but this is a recipe you can do that with to a certain extent. didn't have goat cheese, used cream cheese. didn't even have a can of beans so i used imitation CRAB. i also added a little red wine after sauteeing. baked and ate with crackers. YUMMY!!WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States