Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This recipe was amazing. I followed and earlier suggestion and used black bean instead and loved it! I also omitted the butter just because it felt unnecessary and it didn't seem to affect the flavor at all! It's savory, rich, but not heavy, and the lime adds a great tangy finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This tastes wonderful but the recipe calls for one bunch of chard and you actually need two bunches of chard. There are more pinto beans than anything in this recipe. Try two bunches to even out the flavors and a whole package of goat cheese, not just 3 tbsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
What an interesting recipe! I used fire roasted canned tomatoes instead of fresh and added half a diced onion. For some reason I really wanted jalepenos in this dish so I added 1/2 of a seeded jalepeno, diced. I served this over white jasmine rice with sliced avocado. The avocado was so delicious..the cool rich taste blended so smoothly with the acidic tomatoes and slightly bitter swiss chard. I'd like to try this with mixed beans and fresh mozzarella cheese too. Definitely try this one..It's an unusual but very yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Yum - I was looking for a recipe to use up some stuff from the garden and this was perfect! I didn't have pinto beans on hand, so I used a can of black beans instead. This dish has a lot of flavor and color! I think next time(there will be a next time), I'll double the amount of cooked chard, though, so it's more of a chard recipe than a bean recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyndsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
This recipe is simple to prepare and tastes great. I used 2 tomatoes instead of one and served it over whole wheat pasta for a really nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I've made this dish a few times and my husband and I love it. We like it best when the recipe is followed exactly. The few times I did not-it was not as good. It is a tasty vitamin powerhouse and a great side dish to just about anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Quite delicious - these flavors and textures all go really well together, who wouldv'e guessed?? Very easy and quick to make too..I served this as a side with a simple grilled chicken. I seasoned the chicken breasts with some coriander, tarragon, and a roasted garlic/sesame seed oil - YUM! The spices on the chicken really complemented the earthy flavors in the chard dish...and I added a bit of coriander to the chard also - it was yuuummy :). Next time I'll add more garlic and tomatoes just for my taste, but really this recipe is great as it is. Will become a staple for us, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Followed this almost exactly and couldn't have been happier. I omitted the butter, subbed safflower oil for vegetable oil, and used feta instead of goat cheese. Just used proportions of beans and cheese to match the amount of chard I had. Served with eggs and fruit for a nice brunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rhyminanstealin
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
The goat cheese and lime add a really great, tangy flavor. This was a great healthy way to get more iron-rich food into my diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhyminanstealin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
sooo tasty! made very small changes - black eyed peas, no butter, more tomato and chopped the stems, quickly steamed in microwave before adding to saute. although i added the goat cheese it doesn't need it IMHO. besides, without it (and butter), its is totally vegan, yay! leftovers are my lunch & i am salivating just thinking about it...yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States