Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
As previously recommended I switched the pinto beans for black beans. I went a little heavier on the red pepper flakes because my husband and I like a lot of heat. It was absolutely delicious. I served it over basmati rice, I loved it. I didn't put it in the oven as directed. I thought that was a bit unnecessary. In a hot pan you can just stir the goat cheese around and it melts just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiberallyGillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This is great! I've made it with a number of variations.I would recommend small white beans & fresh tomatoes doubled or tripled!The white beans are more attractive than the reds or blacks. The fresh tomatoes look better too but I need more. I also add more cheese.I use canned if that's all I have. I like the fire roasted diced, drained the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Best. Side dish. Ever. Period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
We loved this recipe! Since I didn't have goat cheese, I used three little triagles of Laughing Cow Garlic & Herb cheese. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Used Feta, black beans instead of pinto. Added extra chard. This recipe was the best! Will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
mmmm wow! i had to sub a few things but this is a recipe you can do that with to a certain extent. didn't have goat cheese, used cream cheese. didn't even have a can of beans so i used imitation CRAB. i also added a little red wine after sauteeing. baked and ate with crackers. YUMMY!!WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Bayard, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeyita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ladner, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
A little goat cheese goes a long way in this dish, which is good as it was expensive. I enjoyed the flavors and colors, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyrobinm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was surprisingly delicious, and so easy to prepare! I used kidney beans because I'm not a huge fan of pintos, but I can see how this would really work with the pintos. I used olive oil, and I covered the pan after adding the cheese rather than baking the dish. I thought the lime juice would stand out, but it blended in perfectly. The only change I'd make is to add more chard and tomato. Great combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
We made this using a clay chamba baking dish and loved the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Beet Salad with Goat Cheese

This substantial, 5-star salad features a sweet and tangy balsamic dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States