Swiss Chard with Pinto Beans and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Tastes very earthy! I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of one whole tomato, and used feta in place of the goat cheese. Will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
ok so this was my 1st time cooking and eating chard. It was pretty good. I had to modify the recipe a bit to fit what I had on hand. I used one can black bean, 1/2 can of tomatoes and green chilies and i only had Feta. My son and Boyfriend both ate it they both said it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS! I used black beans, like others, because that's what I had. Also I just used butter, bc I don't need the extra fat. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I think even if you didn't make the changes I made it would still be a 5 star recipe! It's the red pepper + lime + tomato + goat cheese that's really lovely!! The chard stands up to this combo nicely, so I won't sub any other green. I think you could use any bean you wanted. Texturally, black beans, pinto beans, and white beans would all be good. We ate this as a side to white fish. I'm going to serve leftovers with white rice tomorrow, since the rice will soak up the sauce very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I can't say enough about this recipe, I share it with all of my friends! It is really a comfort food for me. I serve it over a bed of basmati rice. Thank you so much for sharing with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Great blend of flavors! From an 8-servings version, I cut the oil and butter by 1/3 (to 2T each), added one more clove of garlic, added a third bunch of Swiss chard, cut the pinto beans to 1 1/2 cans, and added one more T of lime juice. I used heirloom tomatoes that were purplish and very meaty. I baked it in a 2 1/2 qt casserole dish for 15 minutes. I took this revised version to a group dinner for 10 people and got rave reviews - and many requests for the recipe. This could serve as a vegatarian main dish as well. Thank you, MAHLP1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atascadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Fantastic. I wasnt too sure at first it seemed like an odd combination, but it was amazing!! love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I thought this was a really good, different way to use my Swiss Chard from the garden. I did use feta cheese instead of goat cheese as that was what I had on hand...fantastic flovor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
sooo tasty! made very small changes - black eyed peas, no butter, more tomato and chopped the stems, quickly steamed in microwave before adding to saute. although i added the goat cheese it doesn't need it IMHO. besides, without it (and butter), its is totally vegan, yay! leftovers are my lunch & i am salivating just thinking about it...yummers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Used this recipe as a good base for using up about 12 oz of chard from a veggie bin delivery. I doubled the beans (black), garlic and tomatoes (bean to chard ratio was just right for us at 50/50) and added about 6 oz of feta I had in the fridge. I only added a T of lime juice, and then added about 2 T of wine to help steam the greens. Turned out pretty good. If I make it again - I definitely agree with another reviewer - bacon would be the perfect addition to round out the flavors. Or some crispy pancetta - must be crispy so I would add to the top just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
This was good. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and 1/8 of a teaspoon of cayanne pepper instead of pepper flakes. I also used black beans instead of pinto. I also did not melt the goat cheese in the oven - it melted fine in the pan. It didn't look very pretty, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States