Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was delicious! I used it as a side dish and served it with tilapia over a spinach and onion mix. The only change I made was to add crushed red pepper to give it a little kick... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was really good. I have never had swiss chard before, but grew some in my garden for health benefits. My only suggestion is to be careful if you add any pepper like I did. The chard is "peppery" and with the addition of pepper it was almost overpowering. And I did not have garbanzo beans, so substituted white northern beans. Excellent with Cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I liked it and I got my 15 year old son to eat it. I didn't have any green onions or shallots, so that may have affected the flavor some, but it was still good. Loved the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gayla Garrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Great recipe. I used kale instead of chard and served it over red quinoa. The lemon juice really makes this dish sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this the other night but added raw, shelled shrimp with the onion and garlic. Then followed recipe as stated (using a can of Italian style tomatoes as suggested). Served the vegetables and shrimp over whole grain thin spaghetti, sprinkled with shredded Mozzarella. Makes a great main dish. Leftovers were good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady
Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA
Living In: Inkom, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
This was delicious! This was the first time I ever tried Swiss Chard, but it certainly won't be the last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is delicious. The lemon juice really gives it fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Filer, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
YUM! It's easy to use canned tomatoes or substitute in black beans. Also, a tip for leftovers: bake them with roasted eggplant and a healthy dose of mozzarella cheese in an 8x8 glass dish. Chard is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Great recipe! Based on previous recommendations I added a healthy dose of cayenne pepper and crushed red pepper. I like more complex flavours too, so I added some diced garlic when I added the tomato and lemon juice, and topped it off with toasted pine nuts and crumbled cotija cheese at the last minute (I just had that cheese on hand, turned out lovely). Great cold too! Also, make sure you unzip the chard along the leaf/stalk, and coarsely chop the leaves, while finely chopping the stem, since the leaves cook faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potamun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I had never cooked Swiss chard before and was looking for a simple, yet delicious recipe. This is the one. I wanted to use this as a main course, and I am not big on eating just greens. So, I used a whole can of Garbanzo beans, as others suggested, a can of diced tomatoes, 2 small cloves of garlic, and added rice to the mixture. It came out very tasty. My 2-year-old and my husband liked it, too. Next time, I will try it with orzo, instead of rice. Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States