Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This recipe was really simple and good. I made a few modifications: 1) Added the cut up stems with the onions as they take longer to cook. Used sprouted chickpeas cooked in veggie broth. I added about 1/2 cup of the broth to the chickpeas and tomatoes to make a "stew". Finally, threw in rosemary, thyme, parsley, and oregano from my garden and a bit of lemon zest. Was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Fresh chard and tomatoes from the garden got me searching out new recipes . . . So glad I found this one. I LOVE THIS DISH! The garbanzo beans really made this special and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
A huge hit with the family. Used grape tomatoes and extra garbanzo beans. Didn't have scallions or shallot, so used leeks instead. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I thought this was a quick and simple, full of flavor recipe. I was shocked that it was as flavorful as it was with just salt and pepper to season it with. Been on a garbanzo bean kick and this has become a favorite for myself, my friend, and even my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Volleyballmom
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Soooooo good. Added a little bit of chilli flakes and after I tried it I did add a little feta and preferred that. This is a keeper for sure. Thanks Syd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I got swiss chard at the farmer's market yesterday since it looked so green and beautiful. However I did not know how to cook it, and just found this recipe and tried it today. Wow...Love it!!!!I got a lot of compliment from my family! I added soy source to this recipe and it turned out great for our asian bud! For my kids, I put shred cheese top on it and broiled....and my kids said "Yummmy!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Love how quick and easy this recipe is. I somehow used all my tomatoes earlier this week so I subtracted it as an ingredient and think this is great without. Served it with brown rice and now I'm satisfied for the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
This was fantastic! I made changes based on other reviews. I caramelized onions in a little veg stock, added finely chopped chard stalks, and garlic. Added Jerk seasonings, chopped chard leaves, (along kale and spinach, they needed to be used up), white beans, tomatoes, and served over a bulgar and whole wheat couscous medley that had a tomato base. It has so many big flavors, you would never guess it was a vegan-friendly meal. Will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I added Feta at the very end and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
this is very good.....instead of oil, i browned some peppered bacon side meat, the continued....no onions/green onions....delicious! used up some canned chopped tomatoes. worked out perfectly! thanks for the post Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States