Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
This was delicious and easy! I used garlic and a small onion instead of shallot. I used a can of diced tomatos and a whole can of garbanzos. Also added a little Bragg's Liquid Aminos to give it salt(could use soy sauce). Ate it over couscous for a vegetarian main dish. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I had never eaten swiss chard, garbanzo beans or shallots prior to making this recipe. It was an easy recipe and the lemon juice was the perfect final touch. I will definitely make this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori010993

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Delicious! I added a whole (15 oz) can of garbanzos as I served this over rice as the main dish. I used organic chard and sea salt, and it was so flavorful, I will be making this on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I loved this recipe! Easy to prepare and a pleasant combining of flavors and textures. I thought the 4 serving yield was a bit of a stretch though but that may be more my use of it as main course on top of udon noodles. Next time I will use more tomatoes and wedge them rather than slice them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I loved this. The hint of lemon was a great lasting flavor. I wish I had followed the directions to include the entire bunch of Chard. When I initially chopped the whole bunch it looked like too much so I held back. I also think next time I will add a crunchy topping... maybe some chopped almonds. I ate this as a main dish and used as a side for my husband we both really liked it and I'll definitely be making this for myself often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
This is an excellent side dish. It would go well with bbq'd steak, chicken etc. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My husband really liked this one and my 3 year old ate it all up. Now I know what to do when my Dad gives me a bag of chard from his garden. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love this recipe! I served it with jasmine rice, which I jazzed up with lemon juice, freshly ground pepper, and butter. I also added an extra tomato and a lot more chickpeas , and I served this as a main dish. Mmmany thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Yay! This was my favorite thing I've made from this site. I used two shallots and two roma tomatoes, otherwise, followed exactly and it was so tasty. One note, (since the ingredients list doesn't mention which part(s) of the chard to use) if you're using both stalks and leaves, they will need different cooking times. The stalks need to be thinly sliced and cooked for a couple more minutes than the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I love this recipe! It has become a staple dinner and I've found variations of it that work well too. I've used spinach instead of the chard (when the chard was unavailable). I've also used lentils and a grain mix from Trader Joes. You really can't go wrong this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States