Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I used 2/3 of can of diced tomatoes, I sauteed the chard stems with the beans, and I added chopped linguini to make it more appealing to my family (it worked). Chopped leaves went it last. Will make again, and maybe use a whole can of garbanzo beans to make it into an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Excellent! Substituting Kale works wonderfully too (add a tsp of sugar to sweeten). I used the whole can of beans as well and added some Cayenne to give it a little kick. Husband says its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie McArthur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made a few adjustments after reading the other reviews. First, I sauteed the stems with the onions since they take a bit longer to cook and are somewhat bitter otherwise. I started salting at this step. Then I used a whole can of garbonzo beans and added a couple of tablespoons of apple cider vinegar to the hot pot, again to combat the inherent bitterness of the greens. I also added chili powder and Thai dragon pepper to the mix. It turned out wonderfully and was only better as it sat in the fridge for a couple of days. I would recommend using a very large bunch of chard if you use the whole can of beans. I used a ton from my garden and still had to supplement it with mustard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josi West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alyssalovesfood
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Awesome dish! I've never cooked with Swiss chard and I definitely will again! I used the whole can of garbanzo beans, yellow onion instead of shallot, and added cayenne pepper like the person suggested below. My food pics are on Instagram ahcoutry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
i spiced it up with white pepper,, and added a medley of red, green and orange peppers, i will def make this again,, it was wholesome,, hearty and an easy way for me to use my chard straight out the garden with stuff i had in the fridge or freezer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this recipe with collard greens because my store did not carry swiss chard, also I added about a half of a tsp of smoked paprika, and used a whole can of chickpeas. This recipe is outstanding! I will be making this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennyjell30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
SENSATIONAL!!! My family is full of meat lovers but I wanted to try something different. This was perfect! I added a little garlic (abt. a tsp) with diced yellow onion substituted for the shallot, and the green onions. I also doubled the recipe. We will definitely put this into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Added Gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Great recipe, but tweaked by using more garbanzos, adding chopped garlic, and choosing heirloom cherry tomatoes cut in half. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States