Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Yum! I accidentally added a whole can of chickpeas and used organic grape tomatoes (halved). I served over some noodles and topped with mozzarella- for the kids (yeah- that's the ticket). Pink Himalayan salt and fresh ground pepper was great. One of my kids preferred a lot of extra lemon juice and LOVED the garbanzo beans. (Maybe a little zest next time?) Great recipe! I don't get around to the red Swiss chard much beyond my juicer. Tip: Discard the stems of the chard, rinse thoroughly- rubbing each leaf with your fingers to remove dirt. Once chopped, rinse again while lightly tossing in a colander under cool water to remove any remaining dirt. Toss excess water off by lightly tossing in colander before wilting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I am eating this as we speak, its simple, yet delicious way to eat chard! Looking forward to trying it with goat cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna Gould

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
I added the entire can of garbanzos & used lots of lemon (we love lemon!). I'm going to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicky McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I used 2/3 of can of diced tomatoes, I sauteed the chard stems with the beans, and I added chopped linguini to make it more appealing to my family (it worked). Chopped leaves went it last. Will make again, and maybe use a whole can of garbanzo beans to make it into an entree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Excellent! Substituting Kale works wonderfully too (add a tsp of sugar to sweeten). I used the whole can of beans as well and added some Cayenne to give it a little kick. Husband says its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie McArthur

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I made a few adjustments after reading the other reviews. First, I sauteed the stems with the onions since they take a bit longer to cook and are somewhat bitter otherwise. I started salting at this step. Then I used a whole can of garbonzo beans and added a couple of tablespoons of apple cider vinegar to the hot pot, again to combat the inherent bitterness of the greens. I also added chili powder and Thai dragon pepper to the mix. It turned out wonderfully and was only better as it sat in the fridge for a couple of days. I would recommend using a very large bunch of chard if you use the whole can of beans. I used a ton from my garden and still had to supplement it with mustard greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josi West

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alyssalovesfood
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Awesome dish! I've never cooked with Swiss chard and I definitely will again! I used the whole can of garbanzo beans, yellow onion instead of shallot, and added cayenne pepper like the person suggested below. My food pics are on Instagram ahcoutry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
i spiced it up with white pepper,, and added a medley of red, green and orange peppers, i will def make this again,, it was wholesome,, hearty and an easy way for me to use my chard straight out the garden with stuff i had in the fridge or freezer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I made this recipe with collard greens because my store did not carry swiss chard, also I added about a half of a tsp of smoked paprika, and used a whole can of chickpeas. This recipe is outstanding! I will be making this every week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennyjell30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pataskala, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States