Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
this was my first time cooking with swiss chard and I had no idea what to do. this recipe is so colorful, healthy and delicious, not to mention so simple to make. I did use some white onion as well, and minced garlic. Instead of regular olive oil, I used garlic infused. This added intensely to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Great healthy recipe loaded with iron and fiber. Lemon added a very nice brightness to the flavor of the swiss chard. Worked great served with grilled fish. Thanks for submitting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
A friend from work gave me a bag of big leaves with red stems and I looked at her and asked what is it? .. Swiss Chard she said.. ( we dont grow this in the Philippines.. lol) Well after I found a recipe to cook it.. it turned out its a very good side dish for Fish.. and I can also use my fathers tomato that he grows from his garden.. Thank you Syd for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edwina411

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
I've made this several times, usually adding a little (a small clove) of finely minced garlic. Sometimes I haven't had shallot or green onions on hand, so I have used regular white or yellow (or even red) onion chopped finely. I have also sometimes only had canned tomatoes on hand, and it still turns out great. I usually add a bit more spice than salt and pepper. Red pepper flakes and a bit of basil or oregano are a great addition. This turns out great every time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Great fresh & healthy taste. I took the suggestions of sautéing garlic with the onions and added a can of diced tomatoes (drained) because I didn't have enough fresh. I ended up really liking it, but my hubby did not, and son wouldn't try it. The chard cooked down so much I felt like it wasn't noticeable (not to hubby). Not sure I'd add it to my list of regular meals, but if you need a recipe to use Chard it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was delicious! I used it as a side dish and served it with tilapia over a spinach and onion mix. The only change I made was to add crushed red pepper to give it a little kick... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was really good. I have never had swiss chard before, but grew some in my garden for health benefits. My only suggestion is to be careful if you add any pepper like I did. The chard is "peppery" and with the addition of pepper it was almost overpowering. And I did not have garbanzo beans, so substituted white northern beans. Excellent with Cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I liked it and I got my 15 year old son to eat it. I didn't have any green onions or shallots, so that may have affected the flavor some, but it was still good. Loved the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Great recipe. I used kale instead of chard and served it over red quinoa. The lemon juice really makes this dish sing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I made this the other night but added raw, shelled shrimp with the onion and garlic. Then followed recipe as stated (using a can of Italian style tomatoes as suggested). Served the vegetables and shrimp over whole grain thin spaghetti, sprinkled with shredded Mozzarella. Makes a great main dish. Leftovers were good, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States