Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Made it as a lunch to share with my cousin whom I had not seen for forty years. I am vegetarian, as is her partner. It was a hit. People thought they were eating gourmet. And it was so easy to prepare. It will work as well with kale as Swiss Chard. I tripled the recipe for more servings as a main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Followed exactly and really enjoyed it. Great balance of favors. Very simple and quick, will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KateTate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I had to add my own special twists to this recipe. I used 1 T bacon grease and 1 T olive oil. I had no shallots so I used 1/2 C of chopped sweet onion, 2 cloves of garlic, minced and 3" of a garlic scape, (the top flower bud of a garlic plant, courtesy of my CSA's, community supported agriculture shares). It should be 2 bunches of Swiss Chard, I didn't have 2 so I added 1 bunch of spinach at the very end. I used a large tomato, a full can of garbanzo beans, and a whole small lemon. I finished with sea salt to taste. Next time I might add a little goat cheese to the top to finish. Delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwich, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
My boys love this meal. I used collards tonight; whatever greens I have work. In place of the shallot, I used a yellow onion. Oh, and you can TOTALLY put in a few more tomatoes ;) Fab idea, Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
This was teriffic! I didn't have any shallot or green onions so I used 1/4 large vidalia onion that I had on hand. It was so easy to make and delicious. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Yum! A friend gave me a huge bag full of Swiss Chard and I really didn't know what to do with it. Wow! Perfect! LOVE this recipe. I didn't have shallots, so I carmelized some red onion and I used a lime because that was all I had - it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I didn't have shallots or scallions so I just used a yellow onion which I carmalized. After that I followed the recipe. What wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I was super skeptical while cooking this, but was pleasantly surprised when I tasted it! Yum! I added garlic and used Vidalia onion instead of shallot because that's what I had. Also added feta at the end. It was my first time cooking/eating chard and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Best way that I've prepared chard! I used cherry tomatoes and used the whole can of garbanzo beans because I didn't want to save half for something else. Absolutely delicious! The lemon juice made it amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Delicious! Served it over spaghetti, with goat cheese crumbles on top! I used canned chopped tomatoes. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiamia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States