Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I usually like this kind of dish, but I found it very bland, even after adding garlic and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This fresh meal was so good I ate the whole thing in one sitting. It would go well as a family side, or as a whole meal by itself. It wants to be eaten right away, as reheating wouldn't work with this one. Truly enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
great and flexible recipe... use more or less garbanzos(chickpeas) etc....just use your imagination and taste to modify it... as some did with garlic and/or cayenne... the fresh tomato was a nice contrast to the cooked veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is my new favorite chard recipe. It's fast, easy, and healthy. I used a young leek instead of green onions and minced garlic instead of a shallot, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was a lot more flavorful than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My first review but I love this recipe so much I had to. This is a great base recipe to substitute and tweak as you will. I have made this 2x in different ways and both times I loved it. The first time I stuck to the basic recipe except I used a garlic scape instead of garlic, added red pepper flakes, used 2 small onions in place of scallions/green onions, and canned tomatoes instead of fresh. The second time I made the same changes as above; in addition added cumin seeds when cooking the onion and used fresh tomatoes this time. I had no garbanzo beans so I used 1 1/2 cups cooked lentils and 1 cup cooked wheat berries that I needed to use up. Delicious!!! It had an exotic taste such as one would find in a Northern Indian or some such restaurant and it was filling enough to be a main dish (with one legume and one whole grain it's great for vegetarians). It still could use some spicing up, I think next time I will add turmeric. I also think beet greens would work nice as a substitute for the chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
it was ok, not very flavorful.. won't be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was ok. I'm not a swiss chard lover, so that's probably why I didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
this was NOT good. It looked like a mess on the plate and it didn't taste nice at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatManWhoCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scranton, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Tillamook, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
I was skeptical of this recipe, but I made it and found it to be very good. In lieu of the garlic clove, I used 1 garlic scape. Instead of the shallot and green onions, I used three spring onions. This dish is really very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This was an excellent, easy-to-make, one-pan dish. My girlfriend and I managed to chop all the ingredients and cook this dish in about 15-20 minutes from start to finish. Based on some of the reviews that said the dish was a little bland, I added 2 tsp of crushed chili pepper and about 1 tsp of cayenne pepper to punch it up a bit. It added just a little spicy which is the way I prefer most of my food. I doubled the portions and ate this as a vegetarian main dish (along with some whole grain bread). Added to the Recipe Box and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States