Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I had a lot of garden chard so I tried this recipe. It's so tasty! Adding the tomatoes last makes the whole dish taste fresh and "Springy". I used 2 packed cups chopped chard, leaves only (the stalks go into my veg stock). I also substituted 4 lg. cloves garlic for shallot, 1/2 med. onion for the green onions and 2 Roma tomatoes, as that's what I had on hand. This is now a favorite and in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Yummy base recipe, though I changed it quite a bit. I started with sautéing a large sweet onion, adding 3 cloves minced garlic and a pinch of red pepper flakes and a pinch of italian seasonings. I then added two bunches of spinach (I didn't have chard), then added 1 whole can of rinsed garbanzos, then 1 sliced tomato. I simmered on low, adding dashes of turmeric, cumin, cayenne, ground ginger, and garham masala. I finished to perfection with 1/2 a lemon and some ground sea salt. Soooooooo delicious and nutritious. I doubled the recipe, and there were no leftovers! A vegetarian delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I used collard greens instead of chard since that is what I had. I added more garbanzo beans too. Very nice combo of flavors. Pretty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
What a great way to put swiss chard and garbanzo beans together. I came home with these 2 ingredients and love this recipe. I did add more onion and garlic because I love those but I twisted it with cumin, now it has a Moroccan flavour to it and it is DELICIOUS. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
So good! I added a little bacon and Italian herbs and this dish was so good. This was my first time eating Swiss chard, thanks for the lovely healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This was soooo good! I didn't have any onions or shallot, but I used a few cloves of garlic instead. I also added some red pepper flakes and this was a huge hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom22pickyeaters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I used this recipe the first time I cooked chard. twas great--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Healthy, easy and delicious. This was very good as written and could be adjusted many ways depending on what you have on hand or just personal preferences. I always like recipes for greens that make them less boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Perfect! It's the end of Nov and this was the last of the swiss chard from my garden. Of course being Nov, I didn't have fresh tomatoes so I used a can of stewed tomatoes. This was to be a side dish for supper. Instead it became supper. Ladymildred was right - this could be meal unto itself, and last night it was. Kudos, Syd, kudos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TENNESSEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I usually like this kind of dish, but I found it very bland, even after adding garlic and some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States