Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
Agree w/ the other reviewers, recipe is good, but a bit bland. We added 3 cloves of garlic at the start with the shallots and green onion, as well as a few sprinkles of cumin. Could have still used a little more kick. We also made a yogurt sauce with feta and lemon. The pungency of the feta and creaminess of the yogurt worked well w/ the rest of the dish. I think using canned whole tomatoes with juice would be better than using a fresh tomato. Overall, turned out well, but it did lack that zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
my family love it and so does my chuch Family that comes to my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muncy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Easy to make and simple, but needs a little zing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
This was a wonderful base recipe with plenty of room for additional flavor options. Took suggestions from others and created a wonderful dish. I sauted white onion, lots of garlic, added the beans, then threw in the chard. After partly wilted I added some green and red sweet bell peppers that I had left over from a previous meal. Just before serving, added the lemon,black olives,tomatoes, goat cheese, and fresh parsley from my herb garden finished it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I love the idea of this recipe, but prepared as is, it's missing something. It definitely needs garlic, and some fresh herbs added at the end would be nice. Oregano would be delicious. Or instead of herbs you could add a touch of cumin. Bonus points for ease of preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I had a lot of garden chard so I tried this recipe. It's so tasty! Adding the tomatoes last makes the whole dish taste fresh and "Springy". I used 2 packed cups chopped chard, leaves only (the stalks go into my veg stock). I also substituted 4 lg. cloves garlic for shallot, 1/2 med. onion for the green onions and 2 Roma tomatoes, as that's what I had on hand. This is now a favorite and in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Roux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Yummy base recipe, though I changed it quite a bit. I started with sautéing a large sweet onion, adding 3 cloves minced garlic and a pinch of red pepper flakes and a pinch of italian seasonings. I then added two bunches of spinach (I didn't have chard), then added 1 whole can of rinsed garbanzos, then 1 sliced tomato. I simmered on low, adding dashes of turmeric, cumin, cayenne, ground ginger, and garham masala. I finished to perfection with 1/2 a lemon and some ground sea salt. Soooooooo delicious and nutritious. I doubled the recipe, and there were no leftovers! A vegetarian delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I used collard greens instead of chard since that is what I had. I added more garbanzo beans too. Very nice combo of flavors. Pretty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
What a great way to put swiss chard and garbanzo beans together. I came home with these 2 ingredients and love this recipe. I did add more onion and garlic because I love those but I twisted it with cumin, now it has a Moroccan flavour to it and it is DELICIOUS. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASITA76

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herzeliya, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
So good! I added a little bacon and Italian herbs and this dish was so good. This was my first time eating Swiss chard, thanks for the lovely healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States