Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I loved this, but then maybe I'm biased because I grew up on stuff like this with it's classic and simple Italian flavors and ingredients! Swiss Chard has always been my favorite vegetable and is sweeter and more tender than other greens (also great for adding to soups). The stalks need extra cooking time, so I sliced and cooked them separately in boiling, salted water until tender. Not wanting to open a can of garbanzo beans for just a half cup, I used the full can. I left out the green onion, but added extra shallots and fresh minced garlic. Adding the lemon at the end was something I don't generally do, but enjoyed. For those looking for old-fashioned, traditional Italian cooking and need an Italian side dish to complete their meal, this is a great and authentic choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Healthy & surprisingly very tasty! I added cannellini beans and used lime juice instead of lemon (all I had) plus a little red wine vinegar. I also added a few stale pieces of rye bread which turned into yummy dumplings. Served the whole thing with tiny toast squares and it was perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Delicious! Added garlic and parsely, used red onion instead of shallot; otherwise followed the recipe. MMMMMMMMM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Wow, this is really good! The whole family loved it and I will definately prepare it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Miller

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baker City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
A great way to use up the swiss chard on my garden. Next time i will use more seasonings. I used orzo instead of beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I liked, but didn't love, this recipe. I found it slightly bland, so I made more sauce with shallot, garlic, lemon juice, balsamic vinegar, and olive oil and added that. That improved the recipe for me. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Got Swiss Chard in my CSA box and had no idea what to do with it. Found this recipe, tried it and loved it. I accidentally made it with navy beans but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This was unexpectedly delicious! I did add 1 clove of garlic, but that was it. It was a great way to use the swiss chard in my CSA box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This was the first time I ever cooked chard, and my 7 year old LOVED it! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was amazing! I went to my local farmer's market and got some fresh chard, sweet tomatoes, candy onions and the sharpness of the chard with the sweetness of the tomatoes/onions was superb! The beans add a great texture. I made this for guests (which I do not like to try out "new" things on guests) but they loved it as well. I also added a little minced garlic as recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindamccartneyfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States