Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I love this recipe! I served it with jasmine rice, which I jazzed up with lemon juice, freshly ground pepper, and butter. I also added an extra tomato and a lot more chickpeas , and I served this as a main dish. Mmmany thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Yay! This was my favorite thing I've made from this site. I used two shallots and two roma tomatoes, otherwise, followed exactly and it was so tasty. One note, (since the ingredients list doesn't mention which part(s) of the chard to use) if you're using both stalks and leaves, they will need different cooking times. The stalks need to be thinly sliced and cooked for a couple more minutes than the greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
I love this recipe! It has become a staple dinner and I've found variations of it that work well too. I've used spinach instead of the chard (when the chard was unavailable). I've also used lentils and a grain mix from Trader Joes. You really can't go wrong this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
The only two things I added to this delicious side was lots of garlic and some red pepper flakes. Very tasty and thanks Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
fresh, simple flavors that work well together; i loved it. added garlic (you gots to have garlic!) and used the whole can of chickpeas because i didn't know what to do with the rest of the can. make sure not to overwilt the chard; if done right, it retains some texture. the colors of this dish are bright and made for attractive plating when paired with baked fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Served this over spinach ravioli. Excellent and filling vegetarian meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was very easy and yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Really good use of the swiss chard we had in our CSA basket this summer. Only change I made was to use cannellini beans instead of the garbanzo, since that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
i love this recipe. It comes out great as is, but is also very easy to adapt to whatever you have in your fridge. Sometimes I add cubed roasted butternut squash when I'm serving it as a main meal and it's delicious. After roasting, I cube the squash and add it in with the tomatoes and lemon juice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is amazingly good and simple. We made it a ton when Swiss Chard was in season. It was so much better than I thought it was going to be. Yah greens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States