Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Loved this recipe. I left out the garbanzo beans and tomatoes. I use this to cook kale as well. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
This was yummy! I went ahead and used the whole lemon, (what was I gonna do with the other half?) and also added some fresh dill. Also I added about a quater cup of white wine to wilt the chard in. Easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I needed to use a big bunch of (what I thought was) swiss chard. Once cooked, I actually think it was spinach. Regardless, this was really good. I did not have shallots, and added about 5 green onions, a whole can of garbanzo beans and a whole can of diced tomato. I could have easily used more greens because they cook down so much. I really liked this, the ingredients really go together well : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Soo fresh and good!! Definitely a restaurant worthy dish that is addicting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redlands, California, USA
Living In: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Recipe yielded a better-tasting swiss chard than my usual sauteing in olive oil and garlic. Much less bitter. I used diced tomatoes in place of fresh tomato. I skipped the shallot because I didn't have any, but used the green onions. Another keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
I used black eyed peas instead of garbanzo beans. I also used 1 clove of garlic and a little bit of picante sauce. I used 1 small onion, instead of 1 shallot and 2 green onions. Well, I changed it a lot, but it was very tasty. I am sure the original recipe is tasty too. I served it with grilled Turkish meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turkishcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Very good! Swiss chard, garbanzo beans and tomatoes are a wonderful combination! I have never ate swiss chard before and this dish was an excellent introduction to swiss chard. Easy to make! Swiss chard really shrinks when cooking! ! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetbasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very good! Added the whole can of garbanzo beans since I wasn't sure what to do with the remaining amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ade
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This recipe is extremely tasty and clearly okay for people who are culinarily challenged (the first veggies I've cooked in about three years. Sad but true). I used four large swiss chard leaves, a whole can of garbanzos, and two roma tomatoes. Also threw in some garlic with the onions at the beginning, and cayenne paper to taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This was great!!!! added 3 slices of turkey bacon for a lil more flavor...My 4yr old daughter loved it (we just called it spinach) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States