Swiss Chard with Garbanzo Beans and Fresh Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
i LOVE this recipe - i don't change a thing. i serve this with a pieve of pan seared fish like cod or whitefish......YUMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Wow, this was so quick and easy! It is so tasty. I omitted the beans, simply because I didn't have any on hand, but I will put them in the next time. I sprinkled a little Parmesan Cheese on top, so yummy! I can't wait to make this with Christmas dinner, or for New Years Eve. I think "greens" are supposed to be Good Luck for the New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Only 4 starts since I cooked it in bacon which isn't called for. Great dish, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna164

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This is the first time that I have tried chard and it was delicious! Next time, I will add more chard, as it cooks down quite a bit. I added the stalk too, and served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I substituted white beans for the garbanzo beans. This dish is very wholesome with good flavors. Tasty way to get your greens in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great, using what I had on hand. I omitted the shallot and green onions, substituting one whole red onion roughly chopped and 3 minced cloves of garlic. I made sure to stem the chard, chopped the stems, and threw them in with the onion and garlic to saute up nice and tender. I used a whole can of garbanzo beans and 1 whole can of scantily drained garlic roasted tomatoes. Cooked all this to a simmer, and added the chard to wilt. After it was wilted, I used one tablespoon of lemon juice to sprinkle over it, and then tossed it. I put it in the serving dish, added a handful of grated Parmesan cheese, and stirred to combine. It was HEAVENLY. I will add more chard next time though, it looses a lot of volume when it wilts. Even my super picky 2 year old liked this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiprock, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Pretty good. I decided to dice up some chicken breast and add it to the recipe. I also added taragon, basil and curry spice. Random, I know. You can pretty much do what you want with this recipe, which makes it pretty great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
Really tasty and filling! I did onions and garlic instead of the shallots and green onions because that is what I had in the house, added kale with the chard, added toasted cumin and parsley for added flavor. Served it with a fried egg on top and some crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Surprisingly good! Only thing differently I did was used regular yellow onions, 1 can garbanzo beans, added garlic and mustard greens as well. I also sliced up a bunch of cherry tomatoes instead of one big tomato. I will keep this on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murrysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Certainly an easy recipe. I make this with dried chickpeas in the pressure cooker, and use about triple the amount of chickpeas called for. The first time I overcooked it and the chickpeas turned mushy. The second time I reduced the cooking time, but my husband actually preferred the overcooked, "creamy" version! He gives it 5 stars, I give it 4. Definitely a recipe to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Colchester, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach with Garbanzo Beans

Watch how to make this top-rated Spanish recipe.

Simple Swiss Chard

Healthy Swiss chard is sautéed with garlic and balsamic dressing.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States